Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kmny34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 723
Need help

I've had my 30 gallon up and running for about 2 and half months. Did a fish in cycle and it was cycled in about a month.

My problem or it may be a good thing is that whenever I test my water it is 0's across the board. From what I understand I am suppose to have anywhere from 5ppm to 20 ppms of nitrate, mine is 0 along with nitrites and ammonia. Is there any reason for this?
__________________

__________________
kmny34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 05:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
Do you have lots of live plants in the aquarium? They absorb nitrates as a food source.

My only other thought is that you are doing the Nitrate test incorrectly (ie not shaking the bottle and/or test tube enough), but after doing it for 2+ months, that doesnt seem likely.
__________________

__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 05:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kmny34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyne View Post
Do you have lots of live plants in the aquarium? They absorb nitrates as a food source.

My only other thought is that you are doing the Nitrate test incorrectly (ie not shaking the bottle and/or test tube enough), but after doing it for 2+ months, that doesnt seem likely.
I have one Anubius and a moss ball. Yea I've been doing the test correctly. Idk why it's like that!
__________________
kmny34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kmny34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 723
Does anybody have any suggestions on what it could be? Or should I just not worry about it?
__________________
kmny34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
You may only have a couple plants but they still need nutrients. What I suggest is getting Seachem's Flourish Comprehensive liquid fert and using it weekly after your WC's.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kmny34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
You may only have a couple plants but they still need nutrients. What I suggest is getting Seachem's Flourish Comprehensive liquid fert and using it weekly after your WC's.
Thank you! Will do!
__________________

__________________
kmny34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.