Need help! I was given a tank w/fish, too crowded

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hermansmama

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I'm very new to the fish keeping scene, although I've had goldfish in the past (one is currently 4 years old) but never any tank larger than a 10 gallon. I also work at a petstore, and so know a LITTLE bit about setting up an aquarium.

The problem is I was given a 29 gallon tank with what I thought was going to be TWO bala sharks, about 7 inches each....but in reality when the guy brought the tank over, it turns out he has TWENTY fish in the 29 gallon tank. They are all fairly large, and I have...5 tiger barbs, 3 gold gouramis, the two balas, 5 danios, a black skirt tetra, a swordtail, two silver dollars, and a rosy barb. In other words, WAY TOO MANY FISH for the tank! Most of the fish are fairly large, (at least to what I'm used to)...the danios are probably full grown, the silver dollars are huge...they are super crowded!