Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-04-2009, 08:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Red face Need help with BioCube

I bought the Oceanic BioCube 29g approx. 6 weeks ago. Its freshwater with about 10 little tropical fish. BUT I hate it!!!!

I've always had aquariums growing up and throughout adulthood so I know how to take care of them quite well. I really liked the look of the BioCube and the fact that the filter set is enclosed in the back BUT it has been the biggest pain.

I have lost probably 10 fish due to them being "thrown" over the back into the filter and from there - they are gone!! I can't lower the water level then the filter on the left side starts making this loud screeching noise.

Im just wondering if anyone else has had any problems with the BioCube and/or any solutions on what I can do. The "old fashioned" type tanks and filters always worked to great and I never lost fish so Im thinking of taking this BioCube back and exchanging it.

But I can't be the only one who has lost fish in the BioCube due to them going into the filter.... am I?

Help!
__________________

__________________
Lwaxana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to Roberz00 Send a message via Yahoo to Roberz00
I have a 29 g cube also but set for saltwater and i have not had any fish go over the back like you. Not even a snail.

I know that I dont not use the "factory" filter mounts on the intake side (one with the slots) so with the addition of a foam block I have, I can control the water level in the main tank by moving the blocks up or down to allow more water to pass across the top of the blocks, sorta like surface skimming. I also have to make sure that I am with the water level guage area on the right side min - max window.

I am at a loss just trying to think of how/why your fish are going over the back.. Not to be a butt head or anything but are you sure you "assembled" the back area properly?

I'm sorry for you loss and I really hope the problem can be sortedout soon. The BioCubes are great systems IMO.
__________________

__________________
Rob
Roberz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 02:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Patterson333's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 314
My girlfriend's aunt has had that exact same problem (she's also got the 29 g cube with FW, it was given to her as a gift). I tried to fix it for her by buying some filter floss and just ripping it up and kinda molding it onto the edge between the tank and the filter part (so it sits right on top of the ridge). That was only two days ago, so I don't really know how well it works, but as far as I know, no more fish have gone over, and it looks like it would at the very least be more difficult for them to make the jump...

Also, somehow one of her glofish made its way into the filter assembly on the bottom right side of the thing and it's in an area that can't be disassembled so the best she can hope for is it can somehow make it out of there on its own (she thinks since it's so small it went through the slits)

You can give the filter floss a try, or hopefully someone on here can give you a better solution..
__________________
Patterson333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 06:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Firstly, I realize this is an old thread but anyways...

Secondly, to prevent fish from jumping onto the filter crate\cover build a wall. I have one made out of plastic, cut to fit behind the light's guard, and cut with slots to slide into the dividers.

Thirdly, don't use those standard filters, it's dumb to piss away money on those. Buy carbon, put it in the media bag it comes with and put it in the 2nd chamber, along with the poly wool to polish the water.
__________________
effox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:38 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
I have a 29gal JAD (simular to the BioCube, less expensive) and have had a simular problem. I've had two guppies go through the pump and come out as chum on the other side. Recently I pulled one of my shrimp from the spounge side.

I'm gona try the filter floss!
__________________
MCorder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 06:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
same problem here!

i just moves 6 neon tetra's into my new biocube14. and i not have 5. i emptied the tank in effort to find this lost fish. and i cannot find it. it's not anywhere in the tank, i ripped it all apart. i'm extremely confused right now. i just hope it dosen't happen again. i spent a good 4 hours using a flashlight and some tools (after draining the water) in efforts to look into the space thats blocked of in the filtration system. but again, there was no fish.

any help? or suggestions. and don't tell me it could have jumped out, because i actually thought of that already, and there's no little fish body laying around my tank..


but over all i love the tank. i just plan to get a larger fish, one that cant get into the filter system.
__________________
dsouthworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 06:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
did you try chamber 2 with the bioballs?
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:36 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
yes, i did. i removed EVERYTHING inside the filter area.
i took apart the pump, took out the bioballs and the removable shelf that keeps the balls up.
but it is nowhere. i looked for 4 hours, trying to look inside the spot under the cartridge filter.
__________________
dsouthworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 02:10 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
intank.com has fish blockers for 15 bucks. Or you could make one.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
hmm, maybe it died and your CUC took care of it fast?

oh wait, this is FW. hmm, well then i have no clue!
__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:19 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
I ended up making my own block for my cube. out of Styrofoam. it works and fits perfectly.
And that fish is still a mystery! i guess i'll just let it be. if something bad ever happens like a spike in ammonia, i guess i'll know to look again!
__________________

__________________
dsouthworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, biocube, cube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BioCube bearbear922 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 15 01-23-2010 11:07 AM
BioCube 29 Saltwater Roberz00 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 3 06-04-2009 10:46 PM
BioCube CheeseHead88 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 08-12-2008 12:01 PM
New BioCube 29 MommaFishels Nano Reefs 3 05-05-2008 08:43 AM
new biocube mandarin man Nano Reefs 6 10-16-2007 08:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.