Need help with my new set up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Curt1s

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey evryone!
So I'm new to this sight... Basically because I need help. I previously had a 75 gallon with oscars and had no issues with it but that was 2 years ago and I prob wasn't doing it right anyway. To the moral of my story I fell into a heck of a deal (free) on a 90 gallon saltwater setup....which I converted to FW because I really don't want the headache of SW. now, The aquarium has an overflow with a sump style filter, I set it all up ooh 3 days ago and have been getting it all ready to go. I want to put angel fish and gourami's in it I think( any ideas on cool fish??) I whent out today and bought 10 Zebra danio's to help with cycling the tank. I did a test just a bit ago and got alarming numbers. My ph is somewhere between 8 and 8.5, alkalinity is at 300ppm, and hardness is at 75ppm( dunno if this is bad? ) I'm wondering what all you experts thoughts are on this? Do you think the ph will come down on it's own? What are your thoughts, mine are that not much is going to live with a ph like that. I just want to do the right the first time and not screw it up as this is a very pretty aquarium. No need for disasters here lol your help is greatly appreciated :)

Did you use most everything from the SW setup? How much clean-up was involved? SW is high pH, heavy salt, etc. Unless there was some serious scrubbing and neutralizing (?), IMO you're gonna have some issue that aren't going to go away soon. You might find out from the SW crowd, the best way to de-SW a tank is my best suggestion.

Welcome Aboard!

Some cool fish you might wanna look into are ghost knifes,African butterfly fish,blue lobster yabbie but just watch out for him cause he will own any of your live plants.

Cleaning