Need some "expert" advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hsherman1986

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I just got six GBR's from an lfs closeby. I think me and my fiancee have decided they are ALL males. So now it is time to find some girls. I am looking at getting some EITHER from the same guy Lonewolfblue did, OR from this guy http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auction/auction.cgi?fwapisto&1152496892

my question is, is there any problems in this "different" breed that I will have to lookout for? They are supposed to be "longfinned". The pictures look good to me, but I do not want to decide to order from him and end up with bad fish, as I am kinda naive when it comes to this fish.

any advice is greatly appreciated.

i had those long fin gbrs. i think they are fine. they just have longer fins. just like u can breed fish to have different fins.
i am no expert but i would think its the same.
you can breed to different kinds of the same fish. not a problem.
i doubt there will be a problem here

Hi Do you have pics of the rams you bought? The best way 95% sure way to sex them is to look at the spot on their sides. The males will not have any blue spangels in the spot females will. like edging into the border and in the spot. Another way is that females will have a pinkish to rosy abdomine males 2nd and 3rd dorsal spine are considerably longer. As for getting the long fin GBRs they will breed with yours also Gold GBRs will also. The only ones I would boycott are the ballon GBRs

Sincerely Curtis
Male
img_667921_0_025fd673b9d8a464661a263aa646ad60.jpg

female
img_667921_1_e29c5c5fcc1e77fbcc8b8620c3161a71.jpg

img_667921_2_e60cbdc7edca2de2392b0d6814e6878e.jpg

PR
img_667921_3_ccd3e0a0f3c259b506a71bab48034e7c.jpg