Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-28-2004, 08:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the tank
Posts: 528
New 10 gal

Just picked up a new 10 gal and have a few questions:

1) do I need to put peat below the eco-complete?(planted tank)

2) I'm really confused on how to cycle the planted tank properly. Do I throw a bunch of stem plants in and introduce fish? Please help

3) I currently have an established 5.5gal planted. Would any of the filter media or substrate come in handy?

P.S. Anything missing?

TIA
__________________

__________________
Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 09:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 805
Send a message via AIM to Mr Burns
1) peat is not necessary if you are using eco-complete. hence the name eco-COMPLETE

2) read this short article http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_newtank.htm

3) if the 10 isn't going to be heavily planted, then yes, some of the filter media will help establish bacterial colonies sooner.
__________________

__________________
"If this were a dictatorship, it'd be a heck of a lot easier...just as long as I'm the dictator..."
--George W. Bush, Washington, DC, Dec 18, 2000
Mr Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 10:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the tank
Posts: 528
That is fantastic..thanks. The article is probably one of the best I have read so far. Thanks again

__________________
"Everyone is kneaded out of the same dough but not baked in the same oven."

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?"
Edgar Bergen (1903 - 1978)
Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 03:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the tank
Posts: 528
in regards to my new 10gal. Should I put a carbon pad in the filter or should I just put in a couple of sponges and the "white rock" bag of stuff. I have a Aqua clear mini
__________________
"Everyone is kneaded out of the same dough but not baked in the same oven."

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?"
Edgar Bergen (1903 - 1978)
Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 09:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 65
The "white rock" stuff for your aquaclear is ammo-rid, it will remove the ammonia from your tank. In a planted tank this is bad because plants eat ammonia. And I wouldn't recommend keeping carbon in your tank all the time as you have to change it every month or so, but it is useful for removing meds and chemicals from your tank so always have some dry, unused carbon on hand. The sponge media is most important, it provides mechanical filtration and is the main place for beneficial bacteria to grow.
__________________
Cichlidguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 11:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the tank
Posts: 528
well that clears things up. thanks Cichlidguy for the info, it really helps:

Much appreciated
__________________
"Everyone is kneaded out of the same dough but not baked in the same oven."

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?"
Edgar Bergen (1903 - 1978)
Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 01:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to breadlowry Send a message via Yahoo to breadlowry
activated carbon

I didn't realize carbon needed changed that often. I've heard of people simply rinsing of the grunge from the cartriges when needed and using them of r half a year without problems.
__________________
water is good
breadlowry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 02:12 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by breadlowry
I didn't realize carbon needed changed that often. I've heard of people simply rinsing of the grunge from the cartriges when needed and using them of r half a year without problems.
That's if people don't want carbon in the filter. Carbon also provides a place for bacteria to grow. There is no carbon in any of my tanks.
__________________

__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
planing 70 gal.fish only with 50 gal sump/seahorse tank miesenjr DIY Projects 0 03-03-2009 10:58 PM
newbie with a 10 gal, 50 gal and lots of questions norcalg Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 08-30-2007 12:45 AM
10 gal FOWLR to 30 gal reef upgrade diary...new pics 6/1/07 newfound77951 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 36 06-01-2007 04:32 PM
120 gal pump on 30 gal tank bob112233 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:48 PM
upgrading 50 gal to a 150 gal tank soon..need help PiscesLou Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-09-2004 02:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.