new 10gal tank questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jstfinch

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I finally got a 10gal set up and are using cherry barbs from my brother-in-law. and I'm trying to figure out what else I could add in the tank. It has fake plants for now and a rock formation. I want to add in other fish and live plants. I don't have the right bulbs for plants but can get what ever kind of bulb I need...just don't know what kind and if you have any ideas please post pics of the fish and plants. So if I could get some ideas for other fish species and plant combination would be awesome.

Is the tank cycled?

You can do virtually any plant combinations depending on your lighting and size of your tank. I'm no plant expert o what plants wouldnt outgrow a ten gallon, someone else has to help me out on that one. You could get a T5 fixture (they usually come with the bulbs.) on Aqua Trader. Thy are very cheap and good fixtures.

Click here to check some out
http://www.aquatraders.com/Aquarium-Lighting-s/5.htm

You would want a 20".

no the tank will not be cycled for another two weeks or so. ok thanks for the link I'll check that out. I'm a fish tank newbie and I need all the insight I can get.

If you borrowed fish from your brother in law, it's best for the fish to give them back and do a fishless cycle. It will save the fish from unnecessary stress and harm. Have a look at: The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling

--Adeeb

^^ Agree, fishless cycling is a better way to go both for you and the fish. If you ask for anything from your brother in law, ask him from some gravel or filter media from his tank to help seed yours during your fishless cycle! :D

If you do use fish to cycle your tank get some zebras there cheap and hardy.