New 12 gallon tank, when should I add fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dpw

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I am fairly new to aquatics and hoping for some advice, as what my local store told me is different from what Ive read in previous posts.

I have just bought a 54 litre/ 12 gallon tropical tank as I want some more space for my existing fish and shrimps.

I was told by my local store that I would be ok to add the fish after 24 hours aslong as I add the water and nitrate conditioners. This seemed rather quick compared to when I first set up my first 28 litre tank.

So far I have added new silica sand, live fresh water plants and fresh conditioned water using Fluval conditioner. I now have it almost the water almost to 78 degrees and have added some fresh flake, some existing water from my current tank and a jug full of water that I have just cleaned my current filter sponge with, that had lots of lets say muck in it. Also I have read that adding old ornaments and plants help get the tank ready so have added my bridge and moss ball, still wanting to leave some bits in my current tank.

To speed up time on the cycle is it best to add the current sponge into the tank or have both filters running when I add the fish at a time that you guys recommend.

I would of liked to do a full fishless cycle but unfortunatly I have to get rid of the old tank asap due to space.

Please could you tell me if I am on the right track and give any advice on what I should do next. I dont know if it helps but I have a tectra collection, guppys, brislenose and 2 bamboo shrimps.

Thank-you!