New 29 gallon ideas...maybe planted?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kimlafeiet

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I got a new 29 gallon tank for the holidays, and I think I have decided to try my hand at a freshwater planted tank.
I am a total noob with planted tanks so any input would be most appreciated.
I think I want to do a moderately planted tank with driftwood, angels, or German Blue Rams.

I currently have the tank and heater. What is the best substrate to use for planted tanks? I was thinking either play sand, or eco-complete. Pros and cons to both?

Also need help with lighting. I am thinking low to med light plants, what is the best type of lighting to go with?

and......plants. Waht are the best plants to go with for a new setup?

Anything else I need to know about plants? Fertilizers, etc.......:blink:

I plan to show my build of this tank once I get a final idea of what I am doing.

In my opinyon, sand sucks. I thought it was to dense and heavy and never noticed any new growth from the plants. I switched over to a medium rounded river pebel substrate and I see new growth EVERYWHERE. Also had problems with algae growth on the sand making the tank very ugly looking. It is a personal preference however and hope you have the best of luck. There is lighting designed for plant life. The best bet is to check your local pet store for your options. Again, with your plant selection, I prefer plants that develope a good root system, there are others that need anchored to rocks or driftwood. Some plants do well in low light conditions and others need bright intense lighting. Consider algae growth as well.

Good Luck,
Jerrod938