New 29 gallon tank, advice please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ldavi133

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Greetings everyone! I am the new owner of a 29 gallon freshwater aquarium, planted, and today we bought 5 neon tetras, 4 guppies, and one pleco.
I am looking for stocking ideas, what other fish could I add to my aquarium to create an efficient biological environment, as well as something interesting for viewing? I would love suggestions for a "center piece" fish that is lower maintenance, and gets along well other fish. Also any other schooling fish that may fit, I'm not quite sure what my stock capacity is, as I'm new at this. I have a marineland penguine 150 filter, as well as a heater.

Also, how long should I wait before adding additional fish? Thanks so much for any input. I'm very excited! Also, how often and what percentage of water change do you all recommend?

~JD

Is it cycled? If It is a normal pleco or hifin you may wanna return him. Also a few more neons would be .

Centerpiece? I would let the tank be established a month or two and look at thinks like dwarf gourami or rams or find something interesting and research it.

I'm not fond of the concept of "centerpiece fish." That means, apparently, one fish of a species. Most fish are much happier and healthier in groups, and frankly, a school of fish of one species, is, to me, much more attractive. I have several tanks, one of which is a 65 gallon, with 30 Cardinal Tetras and 20 Harlequin Rasboras, and I think it is very attractive. So I'd suggest more neons and maybe a school of other tetras, and forget the centerpiece fish. Just my opinion, of course.