New 72 Gal Bow Front - Total Newbie Seeking Assistance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hersh_007

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, i'm totally 100% new to the aquarium game and i'm looking for advice. I understand that the larger the tank (to a point) makes it easier to maintain proper levels of PH, Temp, ect. With that in mind I have recently purchased an All Glass 72 Gal BF with 1 built in overflow, a glass canopy and stand.
I am looking to set up a Warm FW Aquarium. I know i'd like to have live plants with the fish eventually but I'm willing to start small to learn the ropes. I am undecided on the type of fish and the type of plant so I want to have a setup that can handle the largest variety of plant/fish combinations as possible. I understand this makes things much more difficult which is why i'm seeking advice from all of you much more knowledgable people, my questions are as follows:

After much research I've decided on a PENGUIN POWER FILTER but I'm hung up on which to buy. The 330 is rated for 55 gal should I get 2 330's or 2 of the 170's?

I've read gravel over 3/4" is not recomended, when using live plants will they live in the gravel or will I need to get something else(substrates if i'm not mistaken?) that they can grow in? Is it true that over 3/4" is bad, even with weekly cleanings?

I got the overflow version in case we wanted to change the tank to a SW setup later on, will having it effect a FW setup in a negative way?

Is a protein skimmer used in a FW setup?

I'm sure I will have more questions as time goes by but for now these are the top priority.

Thanks in advance.

As a born again newbie just a few steps ahead of you I will say READ, READ, READ.

Read about the nitrogen cycle, fish behavior, aquascaping. The more you know now the better off you will be.