New and need help stocking 10G

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cjh33

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I'm kind of new to all of this and was looking around the internet for some help and came across this forum. I've found some great info but was hoping I could ask a specific question and get some feedback.

I'm looking for some advice on stocking a 10G. I currently have 2 serpae tetras but think I need to get 3-4 more to set up a schooling situation. What I want to know is what else would be good to put in this tank or will I have room for anything else? I had thought of a dwarf gourami but I'm not sure if these would be compatible.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Welcome to AA!!

Well, is your tank fully cycled? How long have you had your tetras in there?

I would suggest, if your tank is cycled, to get 5 tetras total. And if your filtration is good, then *maybe* a dwarf gourami. Because with 5 tetras you have 10in of fish.. so you don't want to push your stocking limit too quickly.. or too much.

you might want to look at ghost shrimp or african dwarf frogs once your tank is cycled (or now if it is already cycled).

Serpae tetras can get up to 1.3" in length while dwarf gouramis can get up to 3.5". If you get a total of six of the former and one of the latter that would put you at just over 11" of total fish length which pretty much maxes out your tank if you abide by the 1" per gallon rule. There is a potential problem in that Serpae tetras can be nippy if not kept in large schools so you might want to skip getting the Gourami.

i would recommend 4-5 serpae total. Then maybe a couple of albino cories for the bottem. I agree that the serpaes are known for being nippy.

5 serpaes, 6 ghost shrimp, and 1 gourami should be okay with about 25% PWC every week.