New at this, question about fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

milw217

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am new at this and had a couple of quick questions. I have a 55 gal freshwater setup with a couple rocks, a few pieces of wood and about 10 fake plants. I just got it set up this past weekend and stocked it with fish on Sunday. I have 4 giant danios, 4 bloodfin tetras, 3 high fin mountain fish, 4 red eye tetras, 3 high fin serpaes, and 1 green catfish and 1 spotted catfish. The first question I have is in regards to the catfish. All the other fish generally stay in their groups, but the two catfish are always alone and usually hiding. Is it because maybe they feel threatened? Should I get another of each? I just want to make sure they're happy. The second question is I'm wondering how difficult it will be to change to live plants, and if it would be best to do so after my water cycles for the first time?

Welcome to AA, milw217!!!

It sounds like you already did some research on cycling. Did you consider fishless cycling? Of course, it's too late now since you already have fish. I cycled my first tank with fish, and was careful to check the water parameters every day. Make sure you have liquid test kits for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH. You'll have to do water changes to keep ammonia levels down for the health of the fish - this will slow down the cycling process considerably. Good luck!