Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-06-2003, 07:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SD
Posts: 6
New Bigger tank

Please help if at all possible. My question is this. I got a bigger aquarium new gravel and everything one needs for a new set up. I set it up and I also read that to speed up the cycle process you should take some of the gravel from the old tank and add it to the new tank so you can introduce some of the established bacteria into the new tank. I have done so. I have an under gravel filter as well as a filter that sits on the side of the aquarium that holds two carbon filters in it. In the under gravel filter I have two big power pumps the aquarium is 29 gal. I introduced my barbs when the water temp was adequate (about 2 days after I set the new aquarium up) I checked the ammonia content every day for 8 days and it was 0 always, so I figured I would take a chance and introduce my other more sensitive fish, so I took about 6 gallons of water out of the new aquarium and replaced it with water from the old aquarium I also added a lot more gravel from the old aquarium. Now my question is since I did not detect any ammonia in those 8 days and I should have if the tank was not yet established and also by adding a lot of the water from the old aquarium taking all these precautions should my fish be ok? I have a stick fish (looks like a stick in the water) a clown loach and a Guarami.
Thank you so much for your help, Marnie.
__________________

__________________
Marnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 07:58 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
You may have added enough bacteria to establish the tank well enough to handle the barbs. That is a great way to do it if you can. I would keep a careful eye on ammonia and nitrite for a while though. Especially when adding more fish to the system. One thing you might want to try is running the undergravel filter reverse where the water is pumped down the tube and up through the gravel. That will keep detritus lifted off the gravel bed and will make maintenance easier.
Logan J
__________________

__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 11:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crystal Lake, IL USA
Posts: 179
I agree with loganj. Just keep an eye out on the levels.

you can always drop a fish back in the old tank if levels get to bad.
__________________
David


125gal Reef
55gal sump
AquaC EV-120 Skimmer
Arctica 1/4hp Chiller
3 x 250W MH 10K and 2 x 165W VHO Actinics
mulron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2003, 12:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greenwood, SC
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to Electrobes
For a 29G tank, you should be fine. I have a 29G tank and cycling it was cake, if the barbs handled it okay without any probs, then I think your job on the tank is great - Whenever I redid the tank my biggest fear was illnes, algae (evil kind). The bacteria intro was never a prob, and seeing the way you've done it, you are golden.

Oh yeah, don't worry if you see a sudden spike when this all happens (intro of more fish), keeping an eye out for the levels is definately a must, but don't fret if levels shoot at first, your introducing newer and more fish may increase levels for a lil' bit, but as time goes on it'll be back to normal
__________________
Electrobes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 11:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SD
Posts: 6
how do you run the under graver filter system in reverse?... can you do that with power heads?

PS. thank you very much for all your replys. It really helped to put me at ease.. i will not add any more fish for a couple of months then i will probably just add an angel ( the barbs seem to leave the other fish alone so i think i will be ok, i read they are fin nippers but these guys don't bother anyone yet.. LOL) once again thank you all so much
__________________
Marnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 11:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SD
Posts: 6
Another quick question... how offten should i do water changes and should i keep replacing the water with the water in the old tank?.. i replaced the water i took out of the old tank with fresh water and all the filters are still running in that tank .. but no fish in it ..
__________________

__________________
Marnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a bigger tank! Jason7894561230 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 12-27-2009 12:21 AM
Woo!! Bigger tank!!! 2cvbloke Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 20 07-04-2007 08:54 AM
going to a bigger tank?? tenny Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-03-2005 01:37 AM
in need of bigger tank hornet Archive 2 03-11-2005 04:29 PM
I need a bigger Tank hardparts2 Archive 1 11-20-2004 10:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.