New directions for Seahem SAFE

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

coralbandit

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been using Safe for a couple years now. The directions were for dry use . I mixed my safe with water in a opaque bottle since the beginning. I originally thought the mixture strong for no good reason..I even conducted test with a chlorine test kit where I could dose as low as 1/4 of the recommended amount and still [by test] have removed chlorine completely in a 30g barrel in less then 10 minutes...
The old directions were 1 teaspoon for every 200g...I was mixing 5 tsp per 500ml. to have a concentration that needed 1mg liquid per 2g..
Now in new bottling the directions have changed.
They say 1/4 teaspoon per 300 g.. It looks like my experiment readings may have been very close..:cool:
What I don't get is their math? At 1 tsp. per 200g the kilo said it treated 200,000 g [I am on my4-5 kilo !]..Now with using less then 1/4 the amount recommended before they say a kilo treats 240,000g...???
Wouldn't 200k times 4 be a lot more then 240K???
I feel the need to test even lower doses now !:eek:
I never had a problem with my test and really feared very little..I have a test kit from another top notch keeper who is a retired chemist so I really trust it....
What is everyones take on this and who uses safe??? You all just started saving way more then before IMO....:dance:

Have you contacted Seachem to ask about the changes?

I used to work for a company that did printing. And lots of times what was proofed and approved to print was WRONG.

Unless it was some sort of huge risk most of the time the misprint was left in stock to save money relabeling.

Hello Coral...