New Dwarf Puffer Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Captain Nemo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I was thinking about getting a 10 gallon aquarium and filling it with some dwarf pufferfish and some otto catfish. However I don't realy know all of the requirements needed to keep some. I've done some research and many people have said to plant your tank. I have no experience with this so any advise is helpful. I'm also planing to buy a AquaDuo 10 filter to limit water changes and to help with the ammonia and all the nitrates and such. http://www.amazon.com/Elive-Aqua-Duo-Purpose-Aquarium-Filter/dp/B00IK5QUOW If this causes a problem, it would be appreciated if some information about this filter was given. Any advise helps and i am pretty open to ideas. Thanks!(y)

Somebody with no experience filling a 10gal with pufferfish sounds like a recipe for disaster, to me.

I have 3 dwarf puffs in a 10 that is very heavily planted and honestly, they are harder to care for fish. I'd only keep them in a heavily planted set up as they are aggressive, yet small. Here's a basic care sheet I typed up a while ago
I have 3 in my 10 and they get along just fine, with the occasional territorial dispute. I wouldn't want add any other fish to the tank, even in a 10 gallon. The only fish that they always get along with and many have reported successful with are oto cats. They stay small and eat lots of algae. For some reason the puffs leave them alone. Maybe because of their dull colors and they don't move a lot?