New England Weather...going to be tricky for a newbie with a tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

librarygirl

Look It Up
Hi everyone,

A bit of a history: I'm new to fishkeeping, I have a 12 gal bow front tank with 4 Glofish. I've had the fish since April 1. The tank isn't yet cycled (doing daily pwc and API tests, ammonia is <0.25, ph 7.4-7.6, no nitrates/nitrites yet), sorry for the fish-in cycle but PetSmart said nothing about cycling and so I ended up getting fish too early :taped:

Anyway, I had the temp at 78. I've researched the "right" temp for freshwater tanks and GloFish and am finding different opinions: for Glofish the sticker on the Petsmart tank said around 70-82 f, but some other sites I've read give different temps (72-80 fahrenheit, 74-78 fah etc). I had it set to 78, then got worried that was too high and it's now at 77. Each time I do a water change or feed I'll test the water and it seems to be holding around that temp (sometimes it feels too cool to me but that's probably just me and I honestly don't know what the right temp would feel like, the water wasn't freezing or hot by any means) and the thermometer seems to be accurate, I hope, so I'll go by that. I might lower it to 76.