New here and have some questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Absoluteslite

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone,

New here ofcourse and I am a complete noob to fish tanks. I recently bought my daughters a 10 gal tank and setup and I have a couple questions.

I bought 3 Neon Tetra's to break in the tank and everything is fine so far. I plan on adding probably 4 more fish within the next 2 weeks.

Now for the questions :D

1. How long do I leave the light on?
I have been running it during the day and turning it off at night.

2. Do I need to have this annoyingly loud aerator in a 10 gal tank?
The filter has a little nozzle that goes up and down to allow air to mixin with the water going through. I'd rather hear that then this loud constant hum.

3. How do I clean the tank and how often? and what do I do to the water?

Like i said I'm a complete noob to this so excuse me if these questions are very very basic. I don't want my daughters getting upset over dead fish 8)

Thanks in advance

Welcome to AA Absoluteslite!!

To answer your questions:

1. You should leave your light on atleast 8 hours a day, and what you are doing now is fine... that is what I do to mine, on in the day, off at night.

2. What kind of filer do you have for your tank? If you have a filter that hangs on the back of your tank, a power filter, than you should be fine with the GPH that it will be pushing out. An aerator usually isnt needed if you have an adequatley sized filter running in your tank.

3. To clean your tank, use a gravel vaccuum. You can buy one basically at any fish store. You'll want to vaccuum the scum out of the gravel, and change about 30%-40% of your water every 2-3 weeks atleast. That factor depends on a couple of things also, like how many fish you have, what kind of fish you have, and other things.