Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2016, 06:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Post New substrate

Hello! I am new to the forums so I hope I'm posting in the correct section.
As a fairly new aquarium keeper, I have a question about substrate. I wish to place new substrate in my 5.5 gallon tank for my betta (currently the tank has blue gravel, it has sharp edges which is why I want to change it out) but I am not quite sure on how to do so. Can somebody please help me? I want to do this with minimum stress for my betta and perform it correctly

Thank you in advance ~
__________________

__________________
katrinasama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 11:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
The_Desacrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sactown, California
Posts: 963
Send a message via AIM to The_Desacrator
Do you have a small fish net? That's how I would do change it. Just fill the net, dump, rinse and repeat.

Sent from my SM-G386T1 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
The_Desacrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 05:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: scotland
Posts: 4,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Desacrator View Post
Do you have a small fish net? That's how I would do change it. Just fill the net, dump, rinse and repeat.

Sent from my SM-G386T1 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
+1 that's exactly how I changed my substrate out of my 16G. Easy!
Remember there will be a lot of gunk in the gravel so give a good gravel vac!
55 gallon elephant nose tank.
30 gallon boraras , red longfin bristlenose, bamboo shrimp, crs,rcs and different snails.
__________________
70 gallon elephant nose tank, Gonzo the elephant nose and friends!
30gallon borara merah and brigittae green, red longfin bristlenose, shrimp, ninja, taiwan,bamboo, and snails. [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
shellyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
substrate or no substrate fishydave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-27-2013 05:19 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 05:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 10:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 06:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.