New tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

heatherwright88

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Okay, I know there has probably been 1,000 questions like this but im new to this so here goes... I bought a 10gal tank I set it up bought fake plants, decoration, and I have an Aqua-Tech 5-15 gallon filter. I used spring water. My stock was 1 algae eater, 1 goldfish, and 4 glo fish. My water got cloudy and no matter, with my water changes, it stayed cloudy. I even bought something to clear up the cloudiness. It didn't help. So one of the glo fish died.
So I took the rest of the fish out, emptied my tank, bought gravel, wiped out my tank, rinsed the gravel, rinsed the decorations, bought a new filter to go in it and let it run 24 hous. My fish was in a 1 1/2 gallon tank all the while. The water was dirty so I transferred them back to the newly set up tank. I am scared as to what I should do from here. I am afraid it will get cloudy again and my fish will die. How do I keep this from happening? I have read up a little on the cycling and everyone has differing opinions. I have ordered the Master water testing kit from amazon also. So if I could get some advice I would be so thankful. When I started I was not told anything about cycling or anything.
Tank now consists of:
1 algae eater
1 goldfish
3 daino glofish

what you describe is "new tank syndrome" which causes cloudy water. It will go away in time on its own after aquarium bacteria established.

Avoid chemicals or flocculants. Ditch the fake plants, use live plants if possible (best biological filters there are).

If after a few days water isnt clearing on its own, then can look at other options. bacteria need to establish in aquarium for long term success.

Back in the day, fish were not to be added to new aquariums for a week or two after setup. now you sorta see why.