New tank - How to cycle quickly?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

J12bon

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Im fairly new to fish keeping & am looking for some advice. I started out 4 weeks ago with a 22 litre tank & it soon became clear that this was not big enough so I have now ordered a 50 litre tank, I have bought some media for the filter in my new tank & added it to the media in my original 22 litre tank to collect some of the bacteria, my question is - how do I now cycle my new tank as quickly as possible, ie how soon should I add my fish etc etc. I want the new tank running as soon as possible but don't want to harm my fish. I currently have only 4 guppies, running an external filter & new filter is a interpet pf1. Please let me know if I need to give any more info & please help me to transfer my fish safely. Thanks.

Take some gravel from ur established and put it in a mesh bag, panty hose, or anything of that nature and stick it in ur new tank also u can put some of ur media from ur tank into the new filter should cut ur chow down tremendously

Also any decor or anything will work...the more u seed the new tank the faster it'll cycle but u need to add a lil fish food to it to feed the BB

Brilliant, thank you for the advice. Also, should I add my fish immediately to keep the source of ammonia and the cycle going?? Thanks again

U can but ull have to do daily water changes to keep the water from being toxic ur better off leaving them in the smaller tank until u get good readings from the new one (ammo-0ppm..nitrIte-0ppm...nitrate-5-20ppm)

Ok thanks, in that case I think I will leave them in the small tank and maybe add ammonia or food into the new larger tank to cycle without the fish, I guess that would work??

Ya just add a pinch of food and test daily.. if ur ammo is reading 0 before u have nitrAtes then add more food