Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-06-2015, 12:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

New to forum and aquariums

Hey everyone. Just like title says I'm new to it all..... Very new lol..I did have a small 10gal glow fish tank and that's what got my interest up... So now thanks to a friend I just got a 40gal tank yesterday and I bought black sand for it as well as a marine land penguin 350 filter I also have two and the small round LED bubblers and a heater . With a led light across the top ... I'm looking for ideas, opinions, or advice on how I should go about setting this whole tank up.... I have been looking at canister filters as well I have herd they are much better for filtration. Fish type will most likely be tropical. All ideas and advise welcome.

Old 01-06-2015, 04:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

The tank as it sits currently

Old 01-06-2015, 07:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Congratulations

Congratulations on getting the 40g, Txredneck29. Canister filters are excellent but for a 40g tank the hang-on-the-back filter should be fine; if you wanted to you could probably add an air-driven sponge filter to the tank for some additional biofiltration. The black sand substrate might make it a challenge if you want to keep live plants in the tank. Most decorations will look pretty good with the black substrate (as will a lot of the fish). Some of the folks here can give you good advice about cleaning and maintaining a sand substrate (I use gravel).

-Yorg

Quote:
Originally Posted by Txredneck29 View Post