Newbie :) Help identifying fish :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cadov86

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello im new to the hobby im about two months in and addicted! Not even sure if im posting this in the right section of the forum :)

I recently bought two fish from Petco (they were the only two left) and LOVE the way they look. they haven't got anymore in and when I try and look them up on the internet by what they were labeled as nothing similar comes up. I also went to my LFS (with out pic) I couldn't find them and they had no idea what I was talking about lol. Ill attach a pic :) any help would be great thanks!

ForumRunner_20120923_115717.jpg

Looks like a painted tetra. Unfortunately, anything painted doesn't last long because they are dyed with artificial stuff. I would return them if you can.

Of course, I could be wrong.

What's that pink stuff near the gills? I don't know.....I keep tetras myself, and that looks painted to me. White skirts are all white.....the "painted" part starts to wear off.

Thanks :) when I looked white skirt tetras up and saw pictures they were shaped similar but mine are transparent with a really slight slight pink to them. Also i have yet to see any tetras with a huge dark eye like mine. I thought the pink near the gills was something I was seeing from the inside since they are pretty transparent. I hope they are not dyed because I really love the way they look, that would be a bummer. I guess ill go back to the store see if they have gotten more (the tag said new fish) and ask more questions if they happen to have more.

Oh and since we are on the subject of tetras can Danios be mixed with tetras I think I may have been misinformed because my Danios are chasers. Thanks again! :)