Newbie needs serious help with his aquarium.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matata

Aquarium Advice Newbie
A little backstory. I am an accidental aquarium hobbyist. About 2 months ago, I got a very small aquarium (2-3 gallon) as a gift, and he also stuffed it with 7 fish! (I know!). I didn't know (moderator edit) about aquariums or fish, but the person who gave it to me, assured me its very easy and he has good experience. I knew right away that it seemed too small for those fish, but he told me that its not, as a matter of fact he was thinking about giving me 4 more fish. After doing a little bit of research I quickly found out that the aquarium was barely big enough to hold one fish. Anyways, as expected two fishes died within 48 hours.

I didn't have money handy to invest on a bigger tank or support system, or even knew what I needed to do. I kept changing 50% water. and gave them a little food once a day. The rest survived but they got spots on their body.

Fast-forward today, I finally forced myself to invest some money to help the fishies out. I am in south-east asia (bangladesh), though I am sure there are some knowledgeable fish-tank expert here in this country, but I don't know any of them. Even the store employees doesn't seem to know what they are talking about.