Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2013, 10:05 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobThomson View Post
2, one which is like regular filter foam and then the other side which is carbon?
Obviously you don't want to remove the filter foam. Do you think you would have some room to squeeze a bit of floss in. I had an interpet internal, single block foam. I just cut about an inch off the block and filled the gap with floss. Also, when your Carbon is exhausted, run the floss instead. So much cheaper. You only need carbon for med and odour removal....
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 10:07 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JacobThomson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
Obviously you don't want to remove the filter foam. Do you think you would have some room to squeeze a bit of floss in. I had an interpet internal, single block foam. I just cut about an inch off the block and filled the gap with floss. Also, when your Carbon is exhausted, run the floss instead. So much cheaper. You only need carbon for med and odour removal....
Yeah maybe I could try squeeze some in! Do I take it out once it's clear? Okay so remove the carbon sponge and use filter floss instead?
__________________

__________________
JacobThomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 10:26 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacobThomson View Post
Yeah maybe I could try squeeze some in! Do I take it out once it's clear? Okay so remove the carbon sponge and use filter floss instead?
Yeah try putting some in. It should clear it up very quick. I would try it with the carbon sponge in but if it won't fit, then remove the carbon sponge. I run my floss the whole time, it permanently keeps the tank clear. You can remove it, when it's clear but personally I just replace it. I find I need to replace it every few weeks....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:27 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
swifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 282
Here is the stuff I used. It came in a huge roll. I just cut them up in pieces to fit in my aquaclears.
__________________

__________________
swifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.