Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-28-2015, 11:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Nitrate help

My nitrates are around 40 ppm to 80 ppm!!!! I do 50 percent water changes every week and I have 2 filters running on my 40 gallon tank 😁.

Other results..

Ph- 7.4
Ammonia between .25 and 0
Nitrite- .25


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________

__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 130
Add plants :P
__________________

__________________
Rpeinhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 01:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rpeinhardt View Post
Add plants :P

I have quite a few 😂. 5 large anarchis 2 java fern 1 giant Anubias and 1 Anubias nana


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 03:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
You failed to mention the number, type, and size of live stock and how much they are fed.
Over filtration won't help with nitrates. WCs will. You may have to either increase the WCs, reduce feeding, reduce stocking, or a combination of the above.
The fact that there are detectable amounts of ammonia and nitrite means indicates overstocking, over feeding and/or inadequate filtration.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 03:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Nitrate help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
You failed to mention the number, type, and size of live stock and how much they are fed.
Over filtration won't help with nitrates. WCs will. You may have to either increase the WCs, reduce feeding, reduce stocking, or a combination of the above.
The fact that there are detectable amounts of ammonia and nitrite means indicates overstocking, over feeding and/or inadequate filtration.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

40 gallon bowfront. They get fed 1x every other day. Once a week water changes

1x leopard ctenopoma
1x albino senegalus polypterus
6x giant danio.
1x Bolivian ram


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 07:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
hennaartist's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 396
How long has the tank been up and running?
__________________
hennaartist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 07:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by hennaartist View Post
How long has the tank been up and running?

January marked the 1 year anniversary


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 07:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
I do not believe I am over stocked


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 07:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
NigelK8485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,431
Did you type it in on aqadvisor just to get a rough estimate?

Giant danios take up a lot of space. Though they aren't huge they do require a bit of room and are kind of messy.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
NigelK8485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by NigelK8485 View Post
Did you type it in on aqadvisor just to get a rough estimate?

Giant danios take up a lot of space. Though they aren't huge they do require a bit of room and are kind of messy.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
Someone did it for me before. (Another member on here) and tye said I'm around like 110% which isn't too bad. I keep up with maintenance


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:40 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,673
Nitrate help

What maintenance do you perform on your filter? Do you vacuum the gravel? It seems like either there's not enough bio filter capacity or something disrupted your cycle.

I'm getting aqua advisor saying you're 120% stocked and a warning that the leopard dude is too big for the tank.

Sent from my iPhone with three hands tied behind my back.
__________________
trennamw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:56 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
NigelK8485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by trennamw View Post
What maintenance do you perform on your filter? Do you vacuum the gravel? It seems like either there's not enough bio filter capacity or something disrupted your cycle.

I'm getting aqua advisor saying you're 120% stocked and a warning that the leopard dude is too big for the tank.

Sent from my iPhone with three hands tied behind my back.

I'm getting the same thing using a 46 gallon bow's dimensions since the 40 isn't listed.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
NigelK8485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 04:44 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by NigelK8485 View Post
Did you type it in on aqadvisor just to get a rough estimate?

Giant danios take up a lot of space. Though they aren't huge they do require a bit of room and are kind of messy.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
Could be, I have a 29g with 7 giant danios and 7 hill streams and nitrates build up quick.
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 07:01 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by trennamw View Post
What maintenance do you perform on your filter? Do you vacuum the gravel? It seems like either there's not enough bio filter capacity or something disrupted your cycle.

I'm getting aqua advisor saying you're 120% stocked and a warning that the leopard dude is too big for the tank.

Sent from my iPhone with three hands tied behind my back.

Leopard ctenopoma can be housed in 29 gallons. I will have to go against aqua advisor on this one as they just sit in my leaves and wait to ambush!!!
-
As far as maintenance, for my water changes (once every week) I use the spot by spot technique. As far as the filters there's an aqua clear 30 and a national geographic 40.


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 07:20 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Well guys just woke up and found zero danios in my tank 😳😳😳. And the leopard ctenopoma with a big stomach....


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 07:53 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
The leopard must have been a decent size to eat those. I read that they get to 6" and require a 50g minimum tank size (as per LiveAqua). Not sure if it makes a difference that the leopard is an ambush predator. I think its safe to say the bioload just dropped.
I'm thinking the filters you are currently running are inadequate for your setup and livestock because of the trace ammonia and nitrite. You could add more biomedia in place of the carbon insert in the AC30. Increasing the effectiveness of mechanical filtration will help along with regular maintenance on the filter. Adding floss will help trap debris. If it is changed frequently, it will be removed before it gets a chance to break down (and add to the nitrate level). Swishing the biomedia in tank water will help remove particulate matter. This will help maintain effect bio filtration and reduce nitrates.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 08:24 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
The leopard must have been a decent size to eat those. I read that they get to 6" and require a 50g minimum tank size (as per LiveAqua). Not sure if it makes a difference that the leopard is an ambush predator. I think its safe to say the bioload just dropped.
I'm thinking the filters you are currently running are inadequate for your setup and livestock because of the trace ammonia and nitrite. You could add more biomedia in place of the carbon insert in the AC30. Increasing the effectiveness of mechanical filtration will help along with regular maintenance on the filter. Adding floss will help trap debris. If it is changed frequently, it will be removed before it gets a chance to break down (and add to the nitrate level). Swishing the biomedia in tank water will help remove particulate matter. This will help maintain effect bio filtration and reduce nitrates.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Yea my leopard is around the 5 inch mark. I had an aqua clear 55 on my tank with my aqua clear 30. Unfortunately the 50 broke and I purchased the nat geo 40 (which keeps my water crystal clear). There is no poop on the substrate.

-
About liveaquaria they say a senegalus polypterus (regular bichir) should be in a 90 gallon aquarium(they rarely pass the 8inch mark) while the speckled bichir can be housed in a 50 even tho it gets to a foot long? Doesn't make much sense to me


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 12:27 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1425230765.591166.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	228.2 KB
ID:	265921
According to aqua advisor I have plenty of filtration and it only recommends a 30% water change a week.... (This is without the danios)


Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 12:44 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyofhockey View Post
Attachment 265921
According to aqua advisor I have plenty of filtration and it only recommends a 30% water change a week.... (This is without the danios)


Rockyofhockey _/.\_

But the reality is, you are seeing 40-80 nitrates even with 50% WCs. The nitrates can also come from buildup of waste in the substrate.
One last thing...have you tested your tap water for nitrates?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 12:51 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Nitrate help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
But the reality is, you are seeing 40-80 nitrates even with 50% WCs. The nitrates can also come from buildup of waste in the substrate.
One last thing...have you tested your tap water for nitrates?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Yes and they start at 20ppm. I just don't know how to get rid of them. I just did a 50% wc today



Rockyofhockey _/.\_
__________________

__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total Nitrate VS Nitrate-Nitrogen ganiel Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 24 08-18-2012 11:09 PM
Nitrate-Nitrogen or Total Nitrate johnkristie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-11-2008 09:06 PM
Nitrate and Nitrite are TOO high!!! Help Help! Karimaureen05 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 07-27-2007 07:45 AM
Nitrate help nate Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-25-2003 10:41 PM
NITRITE AND NITRATE PROBLEMS, PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! something_fishy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-27-2003 08:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.