Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2023, 01:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 19
Nitrates too low?

Hi!

I have been searching for hours and haven't found an answer to my question.

I have a 2 month old 10g betta tank, (1 month fishless cycle, 1 month with fish), and so far my ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates are doing well -- too well.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-1015.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	257.3 KB
ID:	325158

I have not done a water change in 3 weeks, and my nitrate is still at 0.

The nitrate almost looks green in person..
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-1019.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	325162
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0?
PH: 7.9-8


I have one amazon sword - my only live plant. It was also like this before the plant was added.

Temp is 79-80 degrees Fahrenheit.

Recently, I have had a diatom spike on my driftwood for about 2 weeks without changes (I had one when I set up the tank, it went away but now it's back and relentless)
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-1017.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	214.7 KB
ID:	325160

No big algae blooms besides little brown dots on my plant, I realize it looks like the dots are part of the plant but they are growing off of it -- looks like a form of algae, at first they were white.

The plant itself isn't doing so well but I'm picking up some flourish today to fix that (Someone at my aquarium store said flourish excel would work the same at providing nutrients, after some research clearly they were wrong)
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-1018.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	325161

My betta is fine, but they are non-stop glass surfing which is worrying (not flaring, just frantically moving back and forth on all sides of my tank)

What do you think the issue is, and how can I resolve it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-1016.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	217.2 KB
ID:	325159  

__________________
Lila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 01:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 7,133
If you are using the API liquid test, you have to really shake up the reagents to get an accurate reading. If you have been doing that, take a sample of your water to a local shop to have them test it to confirm your tests are accurate.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 01:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Perth in Western Australia
Posts: 1,482
If you only have 1 small fish in a tank and it doesn't get a lot of food, the sword plant could be using any ammonia produced and keeping nitrite and nitrate down.
__________________
Colin_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 05:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 19
Sounds good, I'll go check at a store tomorrow because I literally shake it for multiple minutes lol
__________________
Lila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 06:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 7,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lila View Post
Sounds good, I'll go check at a store tomorrow because I literally shake it for multiple minutes lol
The nitrate test reagents are the only part of the API test kit I have issues with. They have been known to go bad before their expiration date and you really need to shake the crap out of them to make sure anything that came out of solution went back into solution. :^s Other than that, it's rated as one of the best test kits for the home aquarist.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2023, 07:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 6,265
All of those leaves will turn yellow, then brown, then melt away. The plant should start sprouting new leaves right at the base when you start with the fertiliser. They will look very different to and all of this is completely normal so if you see the sword leaves die itís because the sword plant needs to grow leaves that are adapted to be underwater.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2023, 07:50 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 21
An additional thing to be aware of when comparing your test kit vials to the chart is the lighting you are reading it in. The colors on the chart can be all over the place depending on the light. How many times have people wondered if the ammonia test is 0 or .25? Or for nitrates whether the color in the vial is 20 or 40 ppm? For me, the best light is sunlight with it at my back and holding the vial and chart in the shadow of my body. Otherwise, bright enough light that shines through the tube and onto the color chart.
__________________
JJenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2023, 09:31 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 310
Also for a more accurate reading, hold the vial about a 1/4 inch or so off the card
__________________
Joe_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2023, 06:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 19
Just an update to anyone reading:

Diatoms went away, the dots on the plant and the log was detritus -- went away after a gravel vac. I also purchased some phosphate removing filter media because my high levels of phosphate and silicate had been what was causing the diatom blooms.

The nitrate surely is still at 0.. even with extra tests from the fish store, also what was causing the yellow leaves (nitrate deficieny)

I've heard that easy green fertilizer works great at raising nitrates so I ordered that to try it

Betta seems better and all in all everything was a quick fix!
__________________
Lila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2023, 07:18 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 7,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lila View Post
Just an update to anyone reading:

Diatoms went away, the dots on the plant and the log was detritus -- went away after a gravel vac. I also purchased some phosphate removing filter media because my high levels of phosphate and silicate had been what was causing the diatom blooms.

The nitrate surely is still at 0.. even with extra tests from the fish store, also what was causing the yellow leaves (nitrate deficieny)

I've heard that easy green fertilizer works great at raising nitrates so I ordered that to try it

Betta seems better and all in all everything was a quick fix!
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2023, 02:41 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 5,111
Easy green has a decent amount of nitrogen in it in the form of nitrate. It also contains phosphate. Remember that phosphate is an essential plant nutrient too, so using phosphate removing filter media might cause a phosphate deficiency in your plants.

Diatoms is a normal thing in newly established tanks until available silicate from the substrate and surface of the glass gets used up. They normally go away after a couple of months with no intervention needed. You dont know if them clearing up had anything to do with you using the phosphate removing media or whether they would have cleared up anyway.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, nitrate, nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How low is too low for nitrates? trennamw Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 11-10-2014 12:57 PM
Nitrates Be Too Low? Concern? drfu Nano Reefs 1 04-07-2014 12:16 PM
pH question....how low is too low? newfound77951 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-30-2006 05:41 PM
Too much DIY CO2?!, Low Nitrates, one dead fish, etc. SSL current516 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 02-25-2006 11:30 PM
Flow rate...How low is too low?? billy302 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 02-28-2005 01:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.