Nitrites (gah!)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

weaselandalf

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
You'll have to forgive me, I'm VERY new to this. I have a 30" x 12" cold freshwater tank with lots of oxygenating plants and a good amount of gravel. My Nitrite levels are REALLY high. I have had the tank about a week now. I undertsand it takes time to cycle, and that water changes are a good idea, however I have no fish in it yet so I don't need to worry about their happiness just yet.
So, will my Nitrite levels lower by themselves eventually? I don't want to do a water change yet because I want to know I have all the bacteria and that it's cycling...

...can anyone help / shout at me in a vaguely helpful way? :?:

ps. I'm hoping to get Goldfish

your tank is around 20 gallons - so you can keep 2-5 small 2inch goldfish (but prepare to upgrade).

about your cycle...
you mentioned you have NO fish.
in that case - do NOT change the water !!!
your nitrite levels will decrease eventually - i recommend increasing the aeration when cycling the tank - it speeds it up a little
(just add lots of airstones and remove them when the tank is cycled)

in about a week - you should be detecting nitrate
keep monitoring your water -
when the nitrite = 0 (i assume your ammonia is already zero), and you have nitrate, you can add fish.

Add around 1-2 fish every 1-2 weeks (and keep monitoring your water during this period)

If you don't have any fish in the tank you don't have to change the water. The bacteria that eats the nitrites will grow and deal with it. Your plants will also process it.

What is your ammonia level? Did you add ammonia to the tank? I am just curious where the nitrites came from after only a week and no fish in the tank.

Yes, what was the source of ammonia?