Noob with Aquarium Fever

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dangerismymiddlename

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello, I am new to the aquarium hobby and have been working on setting up a 29g freshwater tank. I have 5 aquatic plants and have been doing a fish-in cycle. Due to me being a noob and, what now I know is poor, advice from the local pet store, I have 6 zebra danios and 3 julii corys (I had 5 but 2 died the day I got them and I am afraid to get the min of 4 due to cycling). I know I should not have this many fish cycling the tank but now I am stuck with them and my gf has become attached to them. The tank has been cycling for 3 weeks and until recently all levels have been great (amm 0, nitrite 0, nitrate <=10. I have been doing pwc every week and testing water regularly. However, yesterday I got the water tested and my ammonia was at 0.5ppm and I did a 30% pwc to lower it last night. At noon today I took some water in for another sample and now my ammonia is at 1ppm. I am new at this and it doesnt make sense that my ammonia could go up like that after a pwc. Please help me understand this debacle. Thank you for any input.

I would get a good liquid test kit like API's master freshwater test kit. You will need it eventually and it will save you trips to the LFS to get your water tested.

What were they using to test your water, liquid kit or test strips? The strips are notoriously inaccurate. I agree, your ammonia should have went down after a 30% PWC. If I were you I would do another 50% PWC and then get your test kit. The kit only costs around $25 and will last a long time. It also gives you the ability to test your ph, ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates. That is pretty much all the tests you will ever need to run (unless you get into planted tanks or some trickier fish to keep).