Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2003, 04:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 234
Send a message via AIM to mgkaelen
not to be CHEAP, but........

do 36" INCANDESCENT hoods even EXIST? the largest i can find is 30" and that , surprisingly, was at petco! i can't find ANYTHING online... (the 30" was $35-40... can't remember)

the reason i ask was for my (possibly future) planted 29gal planted tank.... the lighting now sucks so i was planning to do an incandescent hood with compact fluorescent bulbs. this will work, right ? (as long as the wattage is suitable for the plants)

if this isn't an option, i'll be buying the ahsupply kit. will a 1x55 kit($42) be enougH? i'll probably go with the 2x55($65) kit to be sure and need a CO2 system. also, i'm confused on the website becuase i can't quite understand what size tanks these fit... do you build it to your tank length specification ??

also, the following is meant for reptiles, but would this be an option for my tank? i do'nt really need the fluorescent, but....

http://lllreptile.com/v2/content/cat...uorescent-hood

i mean for this price i might as well get the 2x55, right?

sorry for the repetitive post, i just don't fully grasp the lighting stuff (retrofitted, ballasts, etc etc) yet. thanks guys =]

__________________
freshwater, 29 gallons.
2 pictus catfish
2 kuhli loaches
1 gold gourami
2 african frogs

freshwater, 10g
live plants
1 otocinclus

125 gallon empty
mgkaelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 04:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
I think that over a certain size they don't bother with incandescent. If you want to use screw in you can always make yourself a hood.

Those cheap spiral screw in CF are great if you are stuck with a incandescent hood but they are no where near as good as the standard flourescent bulbs. The kelvin is a lot lower. Unless you are willing to buy the expensive screw in bulbs that cost 25$ each or so then you are best getting the AHsupply setup.
__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 07:48 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
The AH Supply kits are mostly retrofits, so you will need to mount them in an existing light strip. If you get the whole thing just make sure it is the entire fixture, as I know their site can be a bit confusing. The best thing to do is to call them, because they will be able to tell you exactly what you need and the cheapest way to go about it. They are extremely helpful and know how to set you up with just about any aquarium lighting configuration you can think of. If you are at all unsure, call and you will get some great help.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 09:16 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You would be much better off with a 2x55 than a 1x55. A 1x55 would give you a low light tank. A 2x55 would allow you to grow just about anything you want. You will need something to mount them in. And you pretty much have to have some sort of wooden hood. AH Supply sells basic wooden enclosures that work just fine and work over a glass cover. I managed to snag a wooden canopy for my 29 gallon tank last week at PetCo for $11. They were marked down from $89 to $22 and clearance stuff was 50% off. What a deal!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 11:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 234
Send a message via AIM to mgkaelen
rex, i already have the glass which came with my tank.... which part of the hood is the canopy/enclosure? do i definitely not have one already? SORRY for the STUPID questions ! ! i thought that a canopy was just a matching top that goes with a stand ..
__________________
freshwater, 29 gallons.
2 pictus catfish
2 kuhli loaches
1 gold gourami
2 african frogs

freshwater, 10g
live plants
1 otocinclus

125 gallon empty
mgkaelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 12:09 AM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The terminology gets confusing. Normally a canopy is a matching part that goes with a stand. And the glass thing should be called a cover. A hood would be another name for a canopy. If you go to www.ahsupply.com they will have pictures of their enclosures. They are not a true canopy as they are just a wooden box you can mount the lights in.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 12:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 234
Send a message via AIM to mgkaelen
OH I SEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so the kit just lets you set up the actual electrical portion, and you attach it to the enclosure you make yourself which sits on the tank/glass ?!

i think i'm getting the hang of it .
__________________
freshwater, 29 gallons.
2 pictus catfish
2 kuhli loaches
1 gold gourami
2 african frogs

freshwater, 10g
live plants
1 otocinclus

125 gallon empty
mgkaelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 12:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 234
Send a message via AIM to mgkaelen
one more thing, what is the LENGTH of one 55w strip? i hope not longer than 36 inches as that's how long my tank is ...
__________________
freshwater, 29 gallons.
2 pictus catfish
2 kuhli loaches
1 gold gourami
2 african frogs

freshwater, 10g
live plants
1 otocinclus

125 gallon empty
mgkaelen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 07:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Yep, you're getting it!! . The length of each reflector is 22 inches. So 2 X 55 gives you 110 watts. Ideally, you'll want a full glass cover. For that size light enclosure you'll want to build your own. If I can do it, so can you
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 08:21 AM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Or you could get a 96 watt kit which is 34" long.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 12:40 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Washington State,USA
Posts: 389
The 96 watt kit would be about 6 inches too long for a 30 inch 29 gallon tank after considering the enclosure's dimensions.

One 55 watt might give you enough light on your 29 gallon. I use one on my 26 bow which is deeper than a 29 gallon and its enough for average light plants. Kim at AH supply thought one would probably be enough for my tank. But I have another light to supplement if I choose to and I do use both sometimes. Of course you could wire up the two lights separately to different timers which would add flexbility... if you have two ballast.

I would talk to AH. The kits are pretty "darn" simple. And boxes are easy enough to build if you don't mind cutting 1x4 and 1x2 inch lumber . And it does feel good to DIY
HTH
__________________
26 Gallon Planted Community, 90 Gallon Planted Community - Rena XP3, XP2 Filters, PressurizedCO2, Eco or Flourite, TEK 4x54 T5 light, AH Supply PC s
betowess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 08:18 AM   #12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My bad. The posting about a 36" hood caught me. I should have noticed the reference to the 29 gallon tank.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 11:19 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
a 55watt bulb is 22 inches long (straight pin - what AHSupply sells) or 21 inches if you get square pin (which isn't nearly as common here)
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is This Cheap? theotheragentm Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 08-07-2007 09:24 PM
where to get a cheap mh? Fuvibo1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-19-2005 03:39 AM
cheap,cheap,cheap gravel okaquarium Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-07-2004 04:47 PM
are cheap PS's actually cheap ConanTheLibraia Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-04-2003 09:03 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.