Orange Creeping Crud

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishingdan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Thanks in advance for any help.

I have been battling an orange'ish algae on a weekly basis for a couple of months. The aquarium is about 4 months old. I want to control this stuff, but I am not having any success. The water temp is 75 and the light is on about 8 hours per day. Any suggestions?

Last weekend, I completely cleaned the tank. Everything, but the fish and about 60% of the water was removed. After cleaning the decorations and the gravel under water, I then thought maybe it would be good to boil the decorations and the gravel to make sure the crud was dead. Everything was then put back together. I went away on business for 4 days and I came home to the largest crud invasion I have seen (See the picture).

Its a 10 gallon freshwater tank.

976IMG_1944.JPG

Is it fairly easy to clean off the glass? If so it's most likely diatoms. Diatoms are fairly common in new setups. Make sure the tank isn't in direct sunlight, feed lightly, and do lots of water changes till the problem goes away. Keeping your nitrates at a low level will help starve the algae.

Is it slimy at all? Do you notice any air bubbles within the algae? Is it forming sheets on your gravel? Or is it sorta "dusty" and come off very easily with a finger?

I agree you could be dealing with diatoms. When I look closer towards your gravel though, it looks thick, and sort of climbing up your glass. Therefore, it is possible that it could be a case of cyanobacteria which is not as well known, and different than diatoms. Also takes a bit of a different approach to get rid of, as it is much more photosynthetic than diatoms.