pangasius catfish behavior??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cbmoore22

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok so ive had my catfish for about a week or two and im not sure if one of them is acting right or not im still new to having an aquarium and knowing whats normal and what isnt. Long story short i bought the two catfish at the same time did everything right when setting up my tank had a friend help me. And the one catfish keeps like i guess playing in the airstone wall of bubbles just up and down up and down only comes out to eat takes like two nibbles and back to the bubbles it is he has been doing it for five or six days now does nothing else the other one does it but then she or he swims round like normal. I moght add that they bump into the walls alot and pass out but there still breathing when they do after bout a min. There back to normal. They havent done this passing out for about a day or two the one that plays in the bubbles non stop hasent done it in seven days just the bubbles that he never stops playing in. Back on track ok...so is he acting like he should i mean im worried he isnt breathing right nor eating right like why wont he do anything else but play in the bubbles. And yes i kno a ten gallon is way way to small for them i plan to move them to a bigger tank just gotta find a good deal on a twenty- thirty gallon. Ive added a video.

I actually had the same issue with a pictus catfish. It would swim in the air bubbles and also swim in "loops" around my filter intake. Very weird. Nothing ever seemed wrong with him though. During feeding he would go nuts.

For mine I thought it was lonely and bought a second one. After that the behavior stopped.

Turn the air stone off for a bit and see how they react.