Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2013, 02:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Penguin 150 broke power outage.

So I was not at my apartment last night I was watching my sisters dog while she is out of town I came back to feed my fish and the bio wheel wasn't spinning I went take the cover off and noticed it was hot and then I felt the sides of the filter it was burning up! I guess at some point last night or this morning the power went out and there wasn't enough water retained in the filter ? I have a fluval c3 that's still running its been running along side the bio wheel for over a week so I'm hoping it picked up enough BB to help keep the tank reasonably safe I have the bio wheel part floating in my tank because idk what else to do.


Any suggestions can It be fixed or replacement parts or cheaper to buy a new one ?

I'm looking into battery back ups now.
__________________

__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 12:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Anyone is there anything I can do or is it fried?
__________________

__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 11:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
germanyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 296
Isn't the 150 like a 20 or 30 dollar filter? I'd just buy another one.
__________________
germanyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by germanyt View Post
Isn't the 150 like a 20 or 30 dollar filter? I'd just buy another one.
It is and I am but more so worried about how to keep the bacteria alive untill I do ?
__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 03:03 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scouser on tour, Scarborough UK
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by germanyt View Post
Isn't the 150 like a 20 or 30 dollar filter? I'd just buy another one.
Buying a new one would be best as you can just exchange the media into the new filter.

But you'd have To ensure the media is kept wet!
__________________
Scouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 03:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scouser View Post

Buying a new one would be best as you can just exchange the media into the new filter.

But you'd have To ensure the media is kept wet!
After I got home about 3 -5 hours after the power outage everything was still we so I just dropped them in my tank
__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 03:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scouser on tour, Scarborough UK
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickriley2010 View Post

After I got home about 3 -5 hours after the power outage everything was still we so I just dropped them in my tank
That should keep some of the BB alive.

I put mine in a plastic container and dosed it with ammonia to keep the BB alive
__________________
Scouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 04:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scouser View Post

That should keep some of the BB alive.

I put mine in a plastic container and dosed it with ammonia to keep the BB alive
Hmm well my ammonia levels are like .15 ppm because the darn power screwed up everything ! So I need to hit up the petstore tomorrow and get that filter running agaain my c3 isn't doing jack anymore
__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 04:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scouser on tour, Scarborough UK
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickriley2010 View Post

Hmm well my ammonia levels are like .15 ppm because the darn power screwed up everything ! So I need to hit up the petstore tomorrow and get that filter running agaain my c3 isn't doing jack anymore
Stick what ever media you can next to the intake and outputs of the running filter, that will help pass water through it and help remove some
Ammo.
__________________
Scouser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 12:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
patrickriley2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scouser View Post

Stick what ever media you can next to the intake and outputs of the running filter, that will help pass water through it and help remove some
Ammo.
Ya that's a good idea this happened a couple days ago guess my c3 didn't build up enough
__________________

__________________
Fish
patrickriley2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
penguin, power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.