pH and Substrate

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

talenzmeier

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,

I'm new to the site and I'm jumping right in with a question. My pH is high and I'm not sure what to do about it. I have a 37 gallon tank that has both fish and plants. My substrate consists of gravel/rock and crushed coral for color. For plants, I have two Amazon Swords, a pygmy Sword, Annubias, Rotala Indica, and Apon. Boivinianus. I have 8 Danios (4 leopard and 4 zebra), 15 Neon Tetras, 5 Golden White Clouds, 2 German Rams, and a Gourami. Today I did a 20% water change that brought the pH down to about 7.8 from a high of 8.3. Since I'm a newbie, I hesitant to do anymore water changes for fear of ruining a newly cycled tank. I would rather not force the pH down by using chemicals. I've got conflicting advice. Some say remove the coral, others say leave it, and still others say everything will be fine.

talenzmeier said:
My substrate consists of gravel/rock and crushed coral for color ... Some say remove the coral, others say leave it, and still others say everything will be fine.

I'm not sure why anyone would tell you crushed coral is OK to leave in a f/w tank?! ... Unless your goal is to achieve specificlly hard water for certain fish, it's not something you want to mess with.

If you can do it without a total breakdown, remove all the coral - it is leaching calcium into your water, raising your PH and increasing the waters hardness