pH at 8.2+

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

00youknowit00

Aquarium Advice Addict
Checked my pH and it's at least 8.2, I'm new at this but I'm pretty sure it isn't supposed to be near that high. How can I get it to a safer level? My fish, 2 platies, 1 albino rainbow shark seem to be doing fine though.

00youknowit00 said:
Checked my pH and it's at least 8.2, I'm new at this but I'm pretty sure it isn't supposed to be near that high. How can I get it to a safer level?

U can add peat to Ur filter. That will help lower the ph! But remember don't chase ur ph! U want a constant steady ph! Fish do better in a steady ph environment other than a fluctuating ones.

As long as your pH is stable, it's fine at that level. If you're finding it jumping up and down, that's when it becomes unsafe for fish and you may need to buffer it.

My pH is lock solid at 7.8 and all my fish and plants are doing great.

Checked my pH and it's at least 8.2, I'm new at this but I'm pretty sure it isn't supposed to be near that high. How can I get it to a safer level?

:welcome: to AA

Couple of questions, How old and Large is your tank, what fish do you have.
This can help us give you additional advice.

Generally ... fish can adapt to a pH than is normally higher or lower than what you may read or hear about. I would not recommend using chemicals to lower your pH ... you can instead put driftwood or ... filter media with peatmoss. It's sudden pH swings that can be lethal, which tends to happen when we try to lower pH to a specific number. If you acclimate a fish properly ... like the drip method ... they'll tolerate relatively high pH's. A stable pH is much more important than getting the perfect pH number.

Edit .. sorry .. got distracted .. re-read your post and saw your stock.