Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-23-2005, 08:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 53
Send a message via Yahoo to cougargirl50
PH is to high please help ;o(

I did a water change on Sunday like I normally do and then tested my parameters everything looks good except my PH. My PH tested 7.6 or higher. My test kit stops at 7.6. My fish are dying and that could be a good reason why. What is the easiest way to bring my PH back down to where it is supposed to be. It used to stay right around 7.2, so I don't know why its so high. Does anyone have any advice????

Thanks
__________________

__________________
55 gallon
3 blue long finned danios
3 neons
9 different platy
1 dalmatian mollie
5 corys
2 yoyo loaches

(ALL MY PLATY ARE FEMALE)
https://www.geocities.com/cougargirl5...?1143336351708
cougargirl50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 11:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Peoria,IL
Posts: 348
That's not the reason why your fish are dying. 7.6 is not way too high, that's a ggod number. Please don't try to change the pH, that will do more harm to your fish than a normal pH will.

Is this a new tank? Have you cycled it? What are your ammonia, nitrites and nitrates?


Kim
__________________

__________________
LittlePuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 11:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 153
LittlePuff is right, 7.6 is not terribly high. (That is what my pH is at, and my fish are just fine with it.) If you are still curious as to why the pH has gone up, I can think of a couple of things that might do it. Some rocks, I believe limestone is one of them, will leach minerals into your water, causing the pH to rise. Shells will do the same thing. I personally had my pH jump up right after medicating my tank. I could not find anything else different, so I am guessing that the meds caused the rise in pH.

To second LittlePuff again, don't mess with your pH. A sudden change or frequent swings are much, much worse than a less-than-ideal level.

good luck!
__________________
Think of a snake as a rope. A rope without legs and not available in hardware stores. A lot of people have died at the end of a rope. A lot of people have died at the end of a snake. Think about it. -- Ranger Gord
odobenus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 02:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AK
Posts: 22
Lots of fish acclimate to a fair range of pH even higher than 7.6.

However, you said your test kit went up to 7.6. It is possible that your pH could be much higher and the kit just doesn't show it.

If you are worried about pH, you can take a sample to the LFS and ask them to do a high-range pH test. My high range kit tests 7.4 to 8.8. I rarely use it since I inject CO2, so I'm watching a 6.8-7.0 range.

Again, though, if your pH is rising slowly, the fish may adapt just fine. Unless you are keeping fish that are very picky about the pH, I would look to other reasons.

If your pH is constantly swinging, that would be more of an issue. Often it is not so much a matter of having "proper" numbers - it is all about having consistant numbers.

By the way, my Q tank has no CO2 injection, and our water is at least 7.5 if not closer to 8. My fish (Green Terror, Tiger Barbs) are fine with that. The LFS has a similar pH range, so I only have to worry about pH acclimation when I bring fish into my lower-pH CO2 tank.
__________________
koffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 02:55 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Since your test actually hit the limit of it's ability, you may need to test with a hi-range ph test (these go up to 8.8). Since 7.6 isn't a problem, it may have been higher.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 03:14 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 53
Send a message via Yahoo to cougargirl50
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittlePuff
Is this a new tank? Have you cycled it? What are your ammonia, nitrites and nitrates?

Kim
I don't consider it a new tank.
It is cycled.
My ammonia is 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 10
__________________
55 gallon
3 blue long finned danios
3 neons
9 different platy
1 dalmatian mollie
5 corys
2 yoyo loaches

(ALL MY PLATY ARE FEMALE)
https://www.geocities.com/cougargirl5...?1143336351708
cougargirl50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 03:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Well those parameters look good. Can you test for carbonate hardness? a pH change that doesn't have a corresponding change in carbonate hardness would be very odd.

How did you refill the tank after that last water change? a python/hose, or buckets?

A change of .4 in pH from the tap 'all the sudden' strikes me as strange, especially this time a year (some water companies change things as it gets colder/warmer...but we're mid-summer with stable temp ranges right now).

I suspect a contaminent got into the buckets used to refill. If it was a clean python/hose, then I'd suspect a contaminent entered via air or from your hands.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 05:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 53
Send a message via Yahoo to cougargirl50
I retested my PH and I got 7.6 up from the usual 7.2.
And I tested my PH HIGH or whatever that is and that is reading a 8.0

this sounds stupid but what test is the carbonate hardness test, all I have tests for is what comes in the Masters freshwater kit.

I use a python to drain and fill my tank that is the only thing I use on any water change.

So far I have lost:

1 sunburst platy
1 otto cat
2 balloon bellied mollies

so I have no idea what is going on, I took notice that I didn't have any trouble till I bought my 12 tetras could they be killing my other fish? IHNI that is why i'm asking.
__________________
55 gallon
3 blue long finned danios
3 neons
9 different platy
1 dalmatian mollie
5 corys
2 yoyo loaches

(ALL MY PLATY ARE FEMALE)
https://www.geocities.com/cougargirl5...?1143336351708
cougargirl50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 05:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
KH is a seperate test. You would have to buy it. It is only 5 dollars or so at Big Als. If I understand correctly last Sunday your PH was 7.2 this Sunday it was at least 7.6 and now it is 8.0.

Did you add any decorations or gravel or something, besides the tetras?
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 05:39 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 53
Send a message via Yahoo to cougargirl50
nope just the tetras.

My PH has been 7.2 since I had my tanks.

Geesh my daughter just came upstairs and told me another fish died. So I just went down stairs and sure enough, my redwag sunburst platy is dead. Guess I will have to redue my signature again.

I am about to give up and tear it all down. My 20 gallon was much easier to have. I have no idea what is wrong.

That PH high test is 8.0 my regular ph test is 7.6
__________________
55 gallon
3 blue long finned danios
3 neons
9 different platy
1 dalmatian mollie
5 corys
2 yoyo loaches

(ALL MY PLATY ARE FEMALE)
https://www.geocities.com/cougargirl5...?1143336351708
cougargirl50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 06:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AK
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougargirl50
That PH high test is 8.0 my regular ph test is 7.6
I still think your pH test is reading "7.6 or higher" and not just 7.6 since that is the top range. Again, though, fish may acclimate to the high pH, especially if the LFS has similar water. But if the change is sudden, your fish won't acclimate fast enough if at all.

Rocks, coral, and substrate could all potentially raise the pH. Not all stuff will do that, of course. Have you added or changed any of that stuff recently? One approach might be to strip out whatever rocks and other hardscape you can.

Just keep in mind that if it is the sudden increase in pH that is killing fish, fixing this with a sudden decrease can do the same.
__________________
koffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 06:09 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 27
Did you add all the neons at once? Maybe adding 12 fish at once altered your tank...
__________________
29 gallon freshwater:
6 fancy guppies
5 silver tip tetras
4 jumbo cardinal tetras
3 long-finned zebra danios
2 ghost catfish
2 otocinculus
1 male betta
SeaDana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 06:16 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 53
Send a message via Yahoo to cougargirl50
I didn't add any stones, rocks, coral or anything to my tank.
I added my neons a couple days apart. I called my local fish store that I normally deal with and they told me that, maybe what might be happening is that when I bought my neons they may of had an internal disease and when I added them to my tank depending on what disease the neons had, it spread to my other fish and that is what is killing them. I told her that when I found my otto cat there was no insides left to it at all. So she was thinking that, that could be why my fish are dying, could this be what the problem is?

She told me to treat it a couple days with a medicine called Aquasol for 4 to 5 days.

But I know alot of people are asking me if I added anything to my tank, I added nothing to my tank except for my neons.
__________________
55 gallon
3 blue long finned danios
3 neons
9 different platy
1 dalmatian mollie
5 corys
2 yoyo loaches

(ALL MY PLATY ARE FEMALE)
https://www.geocities.com/cougargirl5...?1143336351708
cougargirl50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 08:58 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
I added my neons a couple days apart. I called my local fish store that I normally deal with and they told me that, maybe what might be happening is that when I bought my neons they may of had an internal disease and when I added them to my tank depending on what disease the neons had, it spread to my other fish and that is what is killing them.
I would have to venture a guess somewhere along these lines as well. If things were fine and peachy before you added the neons, it is VERY possible that they bought something with them into your tank. If you do suspect internal parasites (which, btw: are any of the fish looking listless, or starving? A caved in stomach maybe?) I would grab some medicated food (there are many anti-parasitic foods available), or a med such as metrodinazole.

Your otto likely had no insides left because it was probably eaten.

Also, it is quite odd that your pH has changed. Just for info, what kind of test kit are you using? I'm assuming the liquid test kit, versus a strip test kit. Do you use the caps that come on the test tubes, or do you use your fingers to seal the top of tubes when you shake?

Aquarisol(probably what you meant to say, not aquasol ) contains copper sulfate, and is probably going to do nothing to treat your fish if they do have internal parasites. Overdosing on copper in just the slightest ammount as well is more harmful than not treating at all. I would go for the medicated foods.

HTH
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 09:12 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, PA
Posts: 53
Send a message via Yahoo to cougargirl50
I have the freshwater masters test kits. I don't like the strips.

And I use the caps that come with the kits, cause I know that when you use your finger instead of the caps it throws off your results.

As far as medicated food all I have here is that Pepso food. Could I try using that or do you recommend using something else.

And looking at the fish they look fine, the color in them is good, I didn't even know anything was wrong with them, they were eating just fine to, and swimming around was normal they weren't staying to one part of the aquarium or anything. I am totally lost on this one.

Thanks for all your advice that your giving though.
__________________
55 gallon
3 blue long finned danios
3 neons
9 different platy
1 dalmatian mollie
5 corys
2 yoyo loaches

(ALL MY PLATY ARE FEMALE)
https://www.geocities.com/cougargirl5...?1143336351708
cougargirl50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 09:21 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Quote:
As far as medicated food all I have here is that Pepso food. Could I try using that or do you recommend using something else.
Pepso Food should be alright. I have never used it, but have heard of it working well to treat internal parasites. It also won't hurt the fish, even if this is not what is wrong with it. I don't see a way to go wrong here. 8) It should probably tell you on the package of the food, but you only want to feed the fish the pepso for a few days (3-4) and then return them to a normal diet afterwards.

Other than that, I'm lost as well. Everything seems to be going fine in your tank otherwise, besides your pH problem.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 01:12 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
How much water did you change? With the python, if you changed more than 20% and if your tap water is high ph, could be the reason. But don't worry, it's not too high, the fish will acclimate to it. Just remember, if you do small water changes, ph shouldn't move too much, but if you do large PWC's, it can change considerably. If you decide to add more fish, don't add chemicals to adjust the ph. You will be fine. And if ph movement bothers you, just do 20% PWC's. And remember to acclimate the fish before adding to the tank.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 08:38 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 153
That means your Ph is 8.0. There is only one Ph, just the first test only goes up to 7.6, and the other probably starts at 7.8. So, your Ph pegs the first test at 7.6 because it is actually 8.0.

A lot of people in here argue that Ph isn't as important as a STABLE Ph, which I agree with, but I don't think that means that Ph isn't important. Of course, regarding aquariums, a lot of people in here make me look like a complete noob.

I understand you have kid(s), I have three little girls myself. I have tanks on stands that are low, and I have to tape the lid shut so my 2 year old doesn't put Polly Pockets in for decorations. I don't know the ages of your kid(s), but is it possible that they put something in the tank? Something has changed that has raised your Ph from a good 7.2 to an 8.0. African Rift Lake cichlids like that Ph range.

The odd thing is that your 55 gallon should be more stable than your 20 gallon I'd think. More water to buffer any changing factors.

I sure hope figure out why this is happening to you.

Did you change your water source for your water changes? That's another thing that varies Ph widely in my house. Ph from the outside spigots is 8.2, from the tap is 7.4 (water softener) and from the RO/DI unit it is 6.8-7.0.

Good luck! Post if you figure something out.
__________________

__________________
Crusis
________________
2 x 75G Freshwater 1 African Cichlids 1 planted community
3 x 20G Freshwater Barbs, Mollies, and Platys
1 x 10G Spawning <chica boom chica boom boom>
Crusis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nano Cube High w/ High Output LEDs AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 01-17-2010 06:00 PM
how high is to high for a leather coral divedeep1689 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-10-2009 06:35 PM
High Light, High Flow, Slow Growth Corals jonboyb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 10-18-2008 03:12 PM
cycling my tank, how high is too high for nitrates? boojumsnark25 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-26-2007 10:02 AM
Ca very high, ph high, alk low, what to do? Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-19-2004 05:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.