Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-05-2016, 07:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
phosphate and silicate test

what type of text kit do I use to test my aquarium water for phosphate and silicate
__________________

__________________
twinkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 08:17 PM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 16,069
Paging Jarrod?

I use api for phosphates. Never bothered on silicates - do you have diatoms or just out of interest?
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 08:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
I have Diatoms....40g breeder..no plants...optibright led light(6500k)..5 skirt tetras..3 angles...issues with them since day one...its an establish tank 3 yrs
__________________
twinkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 11:10 PM   #4
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 16,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinkey View Post
I have Diatoms....40g breeder..no plants...optibright led light(6500k)..5 skirt tetras..3 angles...issues with them since day one...its an establish tank 3 yrs

Just checking but ongoing diatoms for three years? What sort of substrate do you have.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 11:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
Top Fin gravel...black with red and green.....I never tested for phosphate and silicate in my tap water....lfs told me our town has traces of it...so I got a bag of phoguard hob filter.
__________________
twinkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 09:40 AM   #6
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 16,069
phosphate and silicate test

Learn something new every day. Looks like you can get one pretty cheap. Would be interested in your results as in the FW side I've never heard of them being used.

I looked up the gravel and thought I could see plenty of quartz but then again my substrate has some as well and no issues.

Maybe your lfs is onto something. Does the town put out a tap water report maybe as well?

http://www.guppysaquariumproducts.co...test-kits.html
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, phosphate, test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silicate and copper problems Scotty Fraiser Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 08-07-2014 06:49 PM
silicate test results are in!! (diatoms) Gazingatstars12 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-28-2013 05:18 PM
phosphate/silicate remover recomendations SpEd Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 06-05-2005 10:36 AM
help with the Salifert Silicate test PLEASE djmpj2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 02-06-2005 01:21 PM
Silica sand Silicate??? gooyferret Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 09-11-2003 10:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.