Pictus catfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bsuball41

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Complete newb here...water temp is steady at 75 F, pH is sitting at around 6.8, water conditioner added; I think I'm ready for my catfish.

My question is for any pictus owners out there...what kind of feeding methods have you had success with, and do you have any experiences I can learn from? Also I read somewhere that you're not supposed to net these catfish...how else can I move him if the need arises?

I just don't want to kill my first fish...

Your temp is spot on, and your ph is ok for this catfish. The "pictus cat" Pimelodus Pictus is the most popular member of the pimelodidae family and grows to about 4-5 inches, and is well recommended for a medium /large fish community. If your fish are neon tetra sized fish then these fish would be a no no as they will get picked off one by one when the pictus goes on his night-time cruises.
They do say that you can keep this fish alone, by through experiance i find they do better if they are in groups. They will eat anything that hits the bottom of your tank but feeding them granuals, Pellets, frozen bloodworm, cockles etc will be fine. Even though these are a bottom dwelling catfish they will search the water surfice for food as well. I have had them with cichlids in the past and they used to feed everywhere, with there long barbels they can find food anywhere. You are right about useing a net with this fish as his pectoral and dorsal fins have a serrated edge and can get court up in the net. I always us a plastic bowl to catch the pictus cats.

HTH