Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-13-2013, 03:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Plants

I have had my tropical aquarium set up for nearly 2 months now and there is webbed stringy stuff on one of my plants and green spots on it should i be worried or is it normal?
__________________

__________________
JamesPinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Yes it's normal, but it's also not supposed to be there
It sounds like you have hair algae which is a pain to get rid of.

I am assuming these are live plants so we need a little more information.

What are your parameters?
What is your light fixture?
How many hours per day are the lights on?
What are you using for ferts / carbon?
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:44 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Yes live and I'm new to this so don't know much just lights are on for 12 hours a day and I use tropica premium fertiliser for the plants
__________________
JamesPinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Do you have any way to test for nitrate?

The number of hours your lights are on is most likely the main cause of our algae issues. I would suggest dropping them down to 6 hours daily to take care of it. Hair algae has a way of taking over an entire tank if it's not taken care of early.

How often do you do water changes?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Yes I have nitrate tests and okay I do them every 2-3 weeks
__________________
JamesPinto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 04:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishdude3233's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Marietta ga
Posts: 1,622
I just looked at your profile and just to let you know a 2 clown loaches can not be in a 100L tank
__________________

__________________
Fishdude3233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.