Please Guide Me

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GreenXSI

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

Glad to have joined a forum with lots of aquarium enthusiasts.

I'm a beginner with aquariums and I recently bought a 16 gallon aquarium intended for some freshwater fishes.

The shopkeeper had given me some starter fishes for my aquarium which includes;

4 x Pink Danios (they actually look orangy)
2 x Black Mollies
2 x Silver Angelfishes
3 x Glass Fishes (was actually 4, but 1 died within two hours of placing in aquarium)
1 x Gourami (biggest in the aquarium measuring about 2 inches mouth to tail end)
2 x Platies
2 x Neon Tetras (smallest in the aquarium measuring about less than an inch, were actually 4 but 1 died in 4 hours of keeping in aquarium)

My questions are :

1) Given the size of fishes and their numbers, is the tank overcrowded?

2) Initially I got an internal water filter and pump (the common black rectangular box type) which would shoot bubbles horizontally. Later I was told that, for the fishes that I bought it would be better if I used only the filter part of that thing and he asked me to pull out a small pipe on it so it would not create bubbles anymore, and I was given another air pump alone which was an external pump but a small pipe came into the aquarium floor with a round stone at the end that sent small bubbles up. They said this one would suit the fishes better as the filters pump created stronger current and would make difficult for fishes to swim. Now I use both of them, but when I placed my hand near the filter pump inside, I could feel it a pressure hitting me meaning it was still making it difficult for fishes to swim in front of it. Is this fine or should I use something else instead of both?

3) Are all the fishes mentioned compatible with each other?

4) How often should I clean the existing filter?