Please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pisces11

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So here's my problem.

I'm new to keeping tanks and am very wary to use chemicals. I live in a rural area and my well water hardness is off the charts. This alone wouldn't be a problem but my ph is way too high because of it. My LFS insisted I buy PH to maintain fish health and it did nothing. The only advice the bottle/directions/website give me are repeat dose but don't exceed a change in ph more then .5 a day. I don't want to keep dumping chems in my tank, but minerals in my water neutralize anything I put In. Please any advice is welcome

I wouldn't recommend trying to change your ph in any way, especially with chemicals. What is your pH?

It's 8.4 and I wouldn't except I'm keeping piranha. I have come to love the cubby guys and I just want them healthy as possible

It's 8.4 and I wouldn't except I'm keeping piranha. I have come to love the cubby guys and I just want them healthy as possible

What size tank? Have they been in this pH for a while? If they are adjusted to these water conditions I would leave them be. It's better steady than changing. Also, well water has a lot of buffers that keep the pH from changing. So it isn't very easy. Do you have a water softener? I live on well water and we have a sodium water softener. Very bad for aquariums. I use re constituted RO now.

No, no water softener. I have four juveniles in a 90 gallon. They are growing super fast and seem healthy. Only one thing bugs me and I'm not sure if its what the species does on it's on, or if there is a problem. When they are "resting" sometimes it seems like they are floating funny. Not sideways but almost diagonal. No signs of disease or lethargy tho.