Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-07-2013, 05:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Please help!

So here's my problem.

I'm new to keeping tanks and am very wary to use chemicals. I live in a rural area and my well water hardness is off the charts. This alone wouldn't be a problem but my ph is way too high because of it. My LFS insisted I buy PH to maintain fish health and it did nothing. The only advice the bottle/directions/website give me are repeat dose but don't exceed a change in ph more then .5 a day. I don't want to keep dumping chems in my tank, but minerals in my water neutralize anything I put In. Please any advice is welcome

Old 07-07-2013, 05:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I wouldn't recommend trying to change your ph in any way, especially with chemicals. What is your pH?

Old 07-07-2013, 05:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

It's 8.4 and I wouldn't except I'm keeping piranha. I have come to love the cubby guys and I just want them healthy as possible
Old 07-07-2013, 05:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pisces11 View Post
It's 8.4 and I wouldn't except I'm keeping piranha. I have come to love the cubby guys and I just want them healthy as possible
What size tank? Have they been in this pH for a while? If they are adjusted to these water conditions I would leave them be. It's better steady than changing. Also, well water has a lot of buffers that keep the pH from changing. So it isn't very easy. Do you have a water softener? I live on well water and we have a sodium water softener. Very bad for aquariums. I use re constituted RO now.
Old 07-07-2013, 06:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie