please help identify

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jennymit21

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm visitin gmy sister in New Hampshire and about a yr ago my mother bought her some fish (unbeknownst to me). neither of them did research about tank mates and all of her tetras already in the tank got eaten. So now a yr later i'm trying to figure out what type of fish she has and get her some info on it. problem is...can't identify. HELP Please !!!!

I think they are some sort of cichlid but since i'm relatively new to all of this i'm not sure. The big one is about 3 1/2" long Reddish gold body with green vertical stripes. the fins are redish. the dorsal and anal fins are sorta longish and flowy and it's tail fin is divided about of the way down. He has a rather pointy face. Obviously as i stated before he is very aggresive (managed to eat 14 of the tetras :roll: :twisted: ) she has no digital camera and her connection is (gasps) dial up so can't send pic sorry. any help would be appreciated as i am trying to educate her Thanks in Advance

http://community-2.webtv.net/MorganaLaFey/StansAquariumPage/page9.html

Any of these?

I know jack crappie about cichlids..my minds eye keeps seeing like a giant ram gulping neons...^_^
but I saw these above just the other day....
I don't think the new long finned oscars have stripes...

At least I can get these crossed off the list if nothing else
though I would hope they would have been leery of any fish with "terror" in the name :roll:

nope not that one thx though. this fish has more of a reddish gold base color and longer tail fins that are red. anyone else have a suggestion?

You could try making a "rough approximation" sketch with Microsoft Paint and uploading it..