Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Please help me with new RO

I just received my new RO system and now I have other water issues. My PH of the new water is 9.0. My GH is now down to about 20 but my KH has gone up to about 240. I'm trying to get it ready for discus. I'm wanting to achieve PH 6.5 GH 20 and KH 40. Any help would be a fishsaver.

Thank you
__________________

__________________
Morningbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 03:38 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
ooops

I realized that there are two hoses that discharge water. One seems to be a bypass or something and the other is the ro output. It's a 50 gpd model and I didn't notice the light trickle before. I'm not a newbie when it comes to aquariums...just when it comes to RO. Never neede it until I decided to set up a tank for discus. I feel quite silly after I figured it out.

I still feel like I'm wasting alot of water through the bypass line. I think there may be a piece that recycles this water back to the beginning of the process. Seems right now 2/3 is being wasted and 1/3 is being collected for the tank. Anyone know what I'm missing here.
__________________

__________________
Morningbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 08:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
thats the waste water line... depending on your water quality, it can potentially have more waste water than filtered water. what is the ph before you run it through the ro and after? if its anywhere between 6 and 8, you shouldnt have a problem as long as you properly acclimate the fish to your water parameters
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:55 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
PH of the tap is close to 9 and the waste water is 9. The ro water is around 7.5.
__________________
Morningbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 08:32 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
RO is quite wasteful of water. How it works is that it uses pressure to force SOME pure (more or less) water pass a semi-permeable membrane to get your finished water. The rest of the water is dumped out.

And you cannot reuse that waste water. When you remove the pure water from your source, the ions in the remaining water gets concentrated. <That is why the KH increases in your waste water.> The RO unit can only handle a certain concentration gradient across the membrane, so it can't push any more pure water out of the waste. <Even though the waste water isn't that concentrated.>

If it will help, you might use the waste water to water your lawn or something rather than flushing it down the drain.
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 05:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Thank you jsoong. I'll come up with something to use the waste water on. Maybe the yard or hot tub or something. I just don't like wasting water. But the ro system is a must because of the chemistry of our tap water. I hope these future discus appreciate the lengths I'm going through to make them a comfortable home.

I dislike being a rookie at something. In time I'll be proficient with the ro system. Thanks again.
__________________
Morningbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 07:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Morningbone, I have a SW setup and use lots of RO/DI water. I run the waste line into my washing machine and use that water to wash my cloths. I got lthat idea from Lisa at Fantasyreef.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 12:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Interesting, any other ideas would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Morningbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
discus fish, water gh, water kh, water parameters, water ph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.