Pregnant?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

melneda

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
I am a newbie here. Can anyone tell me if these two guys are pregnant: the orange fish in the first picture, and the pink one in the second. I am also relatively new with this hobby. I set this aquarium up about 3 months ago.

Also, I would appreciate if you can tell me the names of these fish? I think they were tetras but not quite sure!
Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• fish1.jpg
    fish1.jpg
    231.6 KB · Views: 88
  • fish2.jpg
    fish2.jpg
    220.3 KB · Views: 96
The pink one is an egg layer so it's hard to tell. The first one looks like a female. Was she in a mixed tank at your lfs? Or do you have males in your tank currently? It's possible she may be pregnant but very early on

Thank you very much.. I have 10 galon and 8 freshwater fishes and 4 baby fishes in a separate section in a tank.Mostly tetras but I m not sure exactly...:( I have male in my tanks.. Pink one s stomach is getting bigger she is very active and fast.??

The pink one is a danio and I would recommend a larger tank. Preferably a 20 gallon long. The orange one looks like a platy or Molly. If she's with males of her own kind she's probably pregnant. Just keep in mind platys/mollies produce more waste so water changes need to be more frequent.

If you plan on breeding platys/mollies you definitely want a larger tank with lots of hiding places like java moss. Or if you don't have that then a breeder net of some sort. I use the nylon mesh ones so that when the fry are in there the water is agitated and oxygenated.

Also if becoming a breeder try to do 1 male to 3 females so that they aren't overly harassed to the point of stress.

Any questions just pm me or post on the boards