Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-05-2020, 08:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Prime use

Is it safe to use prime if there is no ammonia in the water? I have an ammonia test kit (API) and it shows number around 1. But the fish are all doing fine. I have 10 gallon tank with 2 guppies in it for now. I have read that it might be ammonium which i think its safe for fish. But i want to make sure I harm no fish. So my question again is, is it safe to use prime even though there is no ammonia or chlorine in the water?
__________________

__________________
rohansamuel77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 09:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 146
Prime is just a simple dechlorinator, that's all. It does nothing for ammonia as tests and professionals prove on the web. Only need it when you add water to your tank to neutralize chlorine/chloramine.
__________________

__________________
fishwonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 07:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NJ USA
Posts: 1,301
^^^What he said ^^^^
__________________
gilpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 972
PRIME
Is NOT just a dechlorinator. It also takea care of Nitrates, Nitrites and Ammonia. It alao takes care of heavy metals.Click image for larger version

Name:	1594141857037.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	163.9 KB
ID:	317323
__________________
earhtmother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:18 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 146
Sorry, all that is a lie. Seachem has no evidence, studies or even any chemist that says it does any of that. Here is the proof it does NOT work. Show me the proof is does work.



5.5.3.2. Prime and Safe
__________________
fishwonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 972
Well it has done everything I asked of it in my tanks so ....
__________________
earhtmother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 03:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
okapizebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Regardless of what it does or doesn't do, no, it is not harmful to your fish.

IMO, if you're seeing ammonia in your tanks a water change should be in order.
__________________

__________________
okapizebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
prime, rim

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use too much prime/ water conditioner ? Alex33 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-25-2017 11:02 PM
Lfs water or use prime? Tyler3533 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 07-30-2012 07:45 PM
How much prime to use? Ponch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-05-2012 09:36 PM
Use Prime and Stability Bigge_al Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 11-11-2011 01:44 AM
prime to use during cycle, experience? carpediem Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 02-22-2005 11:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.