Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2013, 09:17 AM   #241
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
IMO the water isn't gonna do much at all. The gravel and decor will help somewhat... How much? Not much IMO, I've tried it a few times. The best way IMHO is to get some media from a healthy established tank and add it to the filter. You are running a filter right? QT'n a fish could be 3-4 weeks.

Not sure how long you planned on the QT though... If I missed something I apologize I was just trying to catch up with ya from before
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:42 PM   #242
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
I just got the quarantine tank. My regular tank is fin besides the nitrite but it is getting better. I jus wanted to have my quarantine tank established by the time my regular tank is fully cycled and I get any more fish. So I can quarantine them first and do everything the right way. I added half the tank with my regular tank water and half fresh water. I'm gonna add some gravel like he said. What exactly is the substrate you were talking about at the end. Or whatever it was you said to add from my regular tank. Healthy media.
__________________

__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:45 PM   #243
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shope.hannah View Post
I just got the quarantine tank. My regular tank is fin besides the nitrite but it is getting better. I jus wanted to have my quarantine tank established by the time my regular tank is fully cycled and I get any more fish. So I can quarantine them first and do everything the right way. I added half the tank with my regular tank water and half fresh water. I'm gonna add some gravel like he said. What exactly is the substrate you were talking about at the end. Or whatever it was you said to add from my regular tank. Healthy media.

healthy media, AKA the filter from a well established tank. basically have an additional filter system in the QT tank and use the filter from the well established tank. The filter, although somewhat dirty, provides refuge for a lot of beneficial bacteria needed for a healthy tank. As water from the QT tank pushes through the media, the bacteria get dispersed into the tank and grow throughout the tank.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 02:30 PM   #244
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Ok well my filters aren't the same size
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 02:47 PM   #245
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
germanyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shope.hannah View Post
Ok well my filters aren't the same size
If it'll fit stick the new filter in the reservoir with the old one. Leave it for a few days and it should be good.
__________________
germanyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 02:50 PM   #246
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Ok. It's really small compared to the other but, i ca definitely try that! Maybe put it behind the other for a little while.
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 03:16 PM   #247
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
germanyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shope.hannah View Post
Ok. It's really small compared to the other but, i ca definitely try that! Maybe put it behind the other for a little while.
Yeah anywhere you can get it. As long as it's touching it the bacteria from the old one will spread onto the new one.
__________________
germanyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 03:33 PM   #248
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Ok that sounds great! Thanks! My water changes seem to be taking forever to kick this nitrite!
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:38 PM   #249
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
My yellow fish. Where the fungus or whatever was on its tail. It's now brownish red spots. Looks like scabs or something where the fungus has died and had left something. Could be something totally different? Any suggestions?
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:28 AM   #250
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Great news! I got my nitrite down to zero! This is the first time. So I am definitely making sure it keeps testing at zero before I get any more fish. But I do have a question. My nitrate is still at 0. I thought the nitrite was supplied to covert to this? Is this safe? Or do I need to wait until I have a higher reading of nitrate.
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:33 AM   #251
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
germanyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shope.hannah View Post
Great news! I got my nitrite down to zero! This is the first time. So I am definitely making sure it keeps testing at zero before I get any more fish. But I do have a question. My nitrate is still at 0. I thought the nitrite was supplied to covert to this? Is this safe? Or do I need to wait until I have a higher reading of nitrate.
Nitrate isn't necessary in the tank but having no nitrate would indicate that the bacteria that convert nitrites isn't present in the tank. Sounds like you are around the middle of the cycle. The ammonia is being rapidly converted into nitrite but not nitrite into nitrate. I'd keep doing water changes daily if your testing continues to show any level of nitrites. You could also buy some of this.

Seachem. Prime
__________________
germanyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:37 AM   #252
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Okay. My ammonia has been zero for a long time and just now my nitrite is... So. Okay. I will definitely do that. How Long do you think it will take from here.
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:49 AM   #253
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
germanyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La.
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shope.hannah View Post
Okay. My ammonia has been zero for a long time and just now my nitrite is... So. Okay. I will definitely do that. How Long do you think it will take from here.
Even the longest cycles don't go much longer than 8 weeks. I'd say you are probably 2-3 weeks from naturally converting nitrites to nitrates. Just keep the water clean and test often. If you didn't have fish in the tank already you could just change 50% once a week and check the water parameters every other week. With fish it requires more attention.
__________________
germanyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 12:27 PM   #254
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Ok thanks!
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:36 PM   #255
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Ok. So. This is probably gonna sound dumb but since I am all new to this aquarium thing. I just have a question. My rocks and plants in my tank have a brownish color to them that has just appeared over the last little bit. It will come off. Because I tried to wipe it off one of the rocks and it seems like an algae like substance but its not green? I have some pictures. If anyone could answer this that would be great!

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1572209704.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	244.7 KB
ID:	174968
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-422549463.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	175.2 KB
ID:	174969  
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:39 PM   #256
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Wood

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2783596510.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	214.2 KB
ID:	174971
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:42 PM   #257
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
it's algae alright. algae doesn't have to be green. it can be green, brown, black, some somewhere in between.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:47 PM   #258
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Ok. That makes me feel much better. Lol knowin that its nothing serious. I want To make sure my water is ok, but it looks like after that I will be needing an algae fish. Lol
__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:48 PM   #259
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shope.hannah View Post
Ok. That makes me feel much better. Lol knowin that its nothing serious. I want To make sure my water is ok, but it looks like after that I will be needing an algae fish. Lol
or u can leave rhem there. it's a good signthat ur tank is healthy
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:50 PM   #260
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shope.hannah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 277
Also. This could be nothing serious, but my yellow fish has constantly hung out at the top of the tank. So I've never thought anything of it. But my orange swordtail hasn't. Until the past few days. And I had done a water change. Which helped that nitrate a great deal. Is it just a coincidence? It was doing it a day or two before the water change. Although I've been changing small parts of water for almost a month now. It acts fine and will come down. Just most of the time is hanging out at the top with the yellow one.
__________________

__________________
Shope.hannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.