Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-02-2011, 08:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
proper filtration

I have a 125g heavily planted tank. I have 24 different fish the biggest being 7 discus. I do have 1 Cory cat 2 pleco 5 mystery snails. Cycled and had the tank up for over 6 months. I have 2 emperor 400 hob and two small whisper filters
I know I need more filtration to handle the huge bioload I have. Problem is I can't drill I. The the top of the stand. The tank is between a wall and brick. Behind is is wood paneling. The stand is barely half an inch from the wall and I have about 7 inches between the wall and the back of the tank. I need something that is goin to fit and handle all of my bioload. Id love suggestions
__________________

__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Your easiest option to up biological filtration capacity is to add a large air driven sponge filter or two. It's really cheap to add and you do not need space between the tank and the wall to do so. It's not the most aesthetically pleasing option, but it will work great.
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
Wat about all my plants though. I inject co2 wouldn't that counter it
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Probably. I didn't know you had CO2 injected. You could look into a canister filter if it is in the budget.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
It deff would but I have absolutely no where to runs lines. Unless there is a filter out there that is 7" wide and can sit level with the tank
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:46 PM   #6
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
I really think the Fluval FX5 is going to be your best bet. If you look on Fleabay they can be bought new for $225 shipped.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
I have been looking at canisters just have to see my options. I was also suggested a few sponge filters to go along with my hobs
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:49 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.pro1987 View Post
It deff would but I have absolutely no where to runs lines. Unless there is a filter out there that is 7" wide and can sit level with the tank
I'm sorry, I am not understanding everything here. Do you not have any room under your stand for a canister? All of ours are in the stands, and then the hoses run up into the tank between the tank and the wall.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
The stands top is 3" thick. It is pretty much bolted to the wall behind so the is no rheoom between the stand and the wall. The room between the tank and the wall is 9" on either side between a wall and brick is 1/2 an inch. So my only option was hob or if possible a smaller canister filter than can sit on the stand as well behind the tank.
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:59 PM   #10
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Any chance to take some pictures? Is this a homemade stand?
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:00 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
It wasn't originally a tank stand it was just a big cabinet. I have some pictures onmy profile of the the tank
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:33 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311

__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Freshwater guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Ok the puck helped alot. I do have a few ?s though. Is the back of the stand flush with the back wall? If not how much space is there. Second is the back of the tank flush with the back of the stand?
__________________
Freshwater guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:00 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
Ok the stand is flush with the wall, the tank how ever is about 8-9 inches from the the rear wall and 1/2" from the outside walls
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:08 PM   #15
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
It may look sort of strange but how about on floor next to the tank? Maybe build a cabinet to hide it.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:11 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
That could work just trying to hide the hoses would be difficult
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:13 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Freshwater guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.pro1987
The stands top is 3" thick. It is pretty much bolted to the wall behind so the is no rheoom between the stand and the wall. The room between the tank and the wall is 9" on either side between a wall and brick is 1/2 an inch. So my only option was hob or if possible a smaller canister filter than can sit on the stand as well behind the tank.
Ok sorry I got it now. It sounds and looks to me that the best bet is to get a 3 1/2 to 4 inch circle drill bit and punch out a hole in the 9 in space in the stand between the wall and the tank and run the lines for a canister filter like the before suggested x5. Actually 2 off set holes in the back would work better given the length of the tank.
__________________
Freshwater guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:18 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
But the stand is against the wall
__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:31 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Freshwater guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 70
If I understand your set up right, and I think I do. Even though the tank is against the wall as long as there is hollow space inside the cabinet and the 8 or 9 inches between the back of the tank and the wall that should be enough room to get a hand drill back there to punch out those holes the the lines to run through. You will most likely have to take the hob filters off while you are doing this to make space for yourself, but you shouldn't have to move the tank.
__________________
Freshwater guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:38 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
USMCfishcrzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: san diego CA
Posts: 311
I'm hoping I can drill through the top. Its not my cabinet so we will see
__________________

__________________
USMCfishcrzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper filtration/water flow for a 75g planted, marine tank with C02? Mog Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 05-05-2011 10:41 AM
Proper Ph bootz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 03-13-2011 06:49 PM
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 07:22 PM
Proper pH 6.5 ??? lyquidphyre General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 06-23-2006 12:37 PM
Proper gph for water filtration? Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 07-26-2005 11:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.