Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-27-2010, 07:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 381
Question Putting betta in new tank?

Ok so as most of you know I got a 28 gallon marineland euro aquarium. Right now I have had it running for about 1 month with sand, 4 big black decorative stones, penguin bio wheel 150, background, and marineland stealth pro heater set on 76 and a digital LCD themometer that says the tank is a steady 76. It's stabilized but not cycled. I have pure ammonia but I haven't started cycling yet because school has started and I can only work on the weekends to get money to but the test kit I need. I have a female veiltale betta living in a 1 gallon aquarium with gravel, shark cave, lighting, a undergravel filter which also provides aeration. I usually change the water every other day but since school started I've had tons of homework and it's been 5 days since the normal 50 percent water change. And I don't think I'll be able to keep up with my water changes on my 1 gal because it take me like 45 min literally to change it. So would it be better to put it in my tank now than keep it in it's current bowl? I plan to put it in there sooner or later I planned on adding it after cycling and putting the albino Cory catfish in but it already has ammonia signs. Plus it's tank is unheated. Should I go ahead and add it? I'm just thinking it would be better than a 1 gal. Because basically it's in a pool of ammonia now! So I don't think it would hurt to move it to a uncycled tank because both tanks are going to have ammonia in it the only difference is the new ones bigger, heated, and just seems better to do. Thanks for reading this long question I plan to add 12 Albino cories if that matters and if you need to know my 1 gal temp I'll tell you it is just a hassle to move the thermometer.
__________________

__________________
MarkA123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 08:37 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Hey Mark! While cycling with fish isn't preferable, in this case I think the fish would be better off to move to the 28. Don't add pure ammonia if you move the fish. Just stock VERY gradually and be prepared to do PWCs as needed.
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 09:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 381
Thumbs up

Thanks I Just put her in about 10 miniutes ago. How long does it take her to recover from her ammonia poisoning stuff. In her old tank she just literally sat on top of one of the artificial plant leaves gasping for breath at the top with her gills extremely inflamed. She used to be really playful and shed play in her shark cave she loved the shark cave lol so how long should It take for her to be healthy again? Also I have a penguin bio wheel 150 and I'm afraid it's sucking to strong because she struggles to swim past it and sits in the bottom corner on the opposite side of the filter. It has something called a mid legal intake strainer you can adjust right now it's open all the way does that reduce or increase the current and what's it for? Thanks would it be ok to move her shark cave in the tank?
Quote:
Originally Posted by HN1 View Post
Hey Mark! While cycling with fish isn't preferable, in this case I think the fish would be better off to move to the 28. Don't add pure ammonia if you move the fish. Just stock VERY gradually and be prepared to do PWCs as needed.
__________________
MarkA123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
betta, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting plants from ponds into tank??? FiShDuDe9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-06-2009 01:22 AM
putting fish in a new tank while gone? hc8719 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 08-14-2006 11:04 AM
putting betta to sleep??? Ky'smommy Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 06-20-2006 12:23 PM
Putting Chaeto in the tank? TygGer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-21-2004 02:27 PM
putting fish in another tank? sjohnson44030 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 11-29-2002 04:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.