Python Tube Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TygGer

Aquarium Advice Freak
I've never used a Python before, but the idea sounds enticing. My concerns are if the water comes straight from the faucet into your tank, how do you handle dechlorinating the water and what about the temperature differences?

Yea, I know you can adjust the temp with the knobs :) But I can't physically feel a difference between a couple degrees. Wouldn't adding water that quick via the Python stress the fish?

Nope, my fish don't seem to mind. I also made my own python tube from home depot for under $5 and it's 50' long.

TygGer said:
Yea, I know you can adjust the temp with the knobs :) But I can't physically feel a difference between a couple degrees. Wouldn't adding water that quick via the Python stress the fish?

That's why smaller, more frequent water changes are preferable to large water changes. If your new water is off a few degrees, it will quickly mix with water of the right temperature. If you change less than 50% each time, you and your fish will be OK.

I just got a python too, and I have a similar question. I am really bad at estimating, so how do I know how much dechlorinator to put in, or how much new water I am putting in? I have always used buckets with gallon lines marked so I always knew exactly how many gallons I was putting back in the tank. Is it harmful to put too much dechlorinator in, or is it better to put in too little? I just don't know how to figure out how much to add without measuring the water!

During one time of a water change pull water out one gallon at a time. When you pull out x amount of gallons mark it on the glass and from there you will be set for every water change.