Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2008, 09:53 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
happygirl65's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 1,358
QT tank between inhabitants

What do you do in your QT tank between inhabitants?

Do you tear it down, or keep it cycled with some fish in it?
__________________

__________________
happygirl65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 10:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I keep two filters on many of my tanks so I can tear down my QT tank and have a filter ready to go on it. Otherwise you have to keep feeding ammonia into the tank.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 12:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 926
I don't maintain a specific QT/hospital tank. I use a bucket. Any antibiotics you use would kill off the cycle. I find a bucket much easier, and its less likely I'm going to get the urge to stock a sad looking empty bucket as I would a tank.
__________________
Anybody who's seen the personality of fish has had their minds and hearts opened to a whole new world.
DepotFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 12:11 PM   #4
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagz View Post
I keep two filters on many of my tanks so I can tear down my QT tank and have a filter ready to go on it. Otherwise you have to keep feeding ammonia into the tank.
Same here. I keep the filter for the QT on another tank. That reminds me....I need to buy another extra filter.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 01:46 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
happygirl65's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 1,358
That is a good idea!
__________________
happygirl65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Tank Inhabitants theotheragentm Show Off/Photography 7 12-27-2006 08:57 AM
55 gallon tank and inhabitants must go 24 hours? NE! Southwest & California 1 06-25-2005 01:11 AM
quarantine tank inhabitants dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 03-19-2005 11:00 PM
Possible? -New Tank Inhabitants Q Pacifico Cichlid Discussion 9 12-20-2004 01:13 AM
Pics of my tank inhabitants Mutz Show Off/Photography 5 06-14-2003 07:05 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.